We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Cotswold style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
maryland, usa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Charming Cotswold style”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have stayed in Oxford many times for business meetings and have looked longingly at this Lodge as a possible accommodation. So this was a treat for us to have a few nights here before moving to University accommodations. It's a darling lodge, located very well to Jericho neighborhood (Walton Street) and to other pubs and restaurants close by so that the trek downtown isn't necessary for a meal. Downtown is a bit further, and is a lovely walk past colleges and University buildings. We had a second floor room with several windows for cross ventilation but limited view. The room was large, for Britain, and so was the bathroom. It had the most comfortable bed of any on our trip and the quietness made also for restful slumber. Turn down service is provided which we usually eschew, but the chocolates are welcome.

The staff, though always successful in attending to our needs in the hotel, was not very well informed about the surrounding area. Perhaps because the desk attendants were not from Oxford they were not familiar with the walks and restaurants along the Thames. They tried to get information for us, but were unable. This was disappointing. They did willingly store our luggage while the room was under preparation and on the day we checked out.

We did not eat in their facilities so cannot comment. But there are lovely tables out front on which to have tea or an evening cocktail. One could also sit there while waiting for another which was very pleasant as the neighborhood is charming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    277
    154
    57
    33
See reviews for
123
324
44
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight in the past few days. Its comfortable, warm, and very well located for the city centre. There have been comments from past reviewers about run-down furnishings but ceratinly we didn't find that intrusive. Our room was well appointed and fittings were fine apart from a rather tired old bath-screen. The 'mixer' tap at the sink was also weird in that hot and cold water exited in completely separate streams and that made it uncomfortable to put one's hand into the stream. But those were minor points and this hotel is great value. Above all, its staff clearly go out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast was good. A definite recommendation on the basis of our own experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete-fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My son and I felt we were imposing upon the staff by staying here. The manager (?) muttered under his breath when we arrived early because of our train schedule. (I did not expect the room to be ready, but only asked to store our luggage.) He appeared shocked when we decided to stay for lunch and made a disparaging remark about how quickly we ate our first course. The service at dinner was extraordinarily slow even for fine dining. The same man, in a defensive/accusing tone, questioned us why we didn't finish our entire meals. In addition, the wifi was barely functioning and the shower enclosure ineffective. At checkout the bill included considerable unexplained surcharges (not VAT), but I so desparately wanted to leave I didn't question them. (The same man lurked within arms length watching.)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LostLambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Cotswold Lodge Hotel did a great job for Laura,Tom and the guests -of whom I was one. I would like to say a special thank you to 'Tiffany' who was a member of the bar team who did an outstanding job.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel - Laura and Tom did and they rated it highly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well located for visiting the sites of Oxford, walk into town is approx 15mins, or you can take bus from outside. The staff in the hotel are very pleasant and keen to help, food in restaurant very good. Room was comfortable but fixtures and fittings were dated (could definitely do with revamp). Stayed in one of the named rooms on first floor, be aware if you have any mobility problems that bathroom/toilet and bedroom area in the rooms are on different levels which require you to use a small staircase.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruddles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in late July. The reason we picked this hotel is because we had a car with us and the hotel has parking and is within walking distance of the town centre. I would have preferred to leave our car at a park and ride and stay at a nice B&B.

Like other reviewers mentioned, this hotel is overpriced. Our room was dated and tired, and overall didn't look clean. The entire hotel (or at least the parking, reception and hallways we walked in) had a weird ugly smell. To get to our room, we had to go through a part of the hotel which was being remodeled and they didn't even try to cover the mess with a screen or something, or even put up a little sing explaining the situation, or appologizing for the noise (I'm assuming the noises were because of the remodeling).
I normally don't care about noisy rooms/hotels, but these were loud thumping noises coming from above our room, not all the time but repeteadly throughout the day (and we weren't even int he room that long); they even woke us up in the middle of the night.

Overall, we were disappointed; we didn't even want to have breakfast here. However, the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdperezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a short but excellent stay in Oxford, and this hotel was a perfectly traditional start for our holiday in England.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, and seemed more than happy to help. We had a lovely dinner in the stylish restaurant, and the breakfast was even better. Very English, yet delicate food, and our different diets were never a problem.
Our room was big and luxurious, but still very cozy and warm. All the lovely details make this a splendid choice of hotel. There were big windows and comfortable chairs - a perfect place to relax and have a cup of tea.
The bathroom was also lovely - very British, but a bit old-fashioned in some ways.
The hotel itself has a cozy and warm atmosphere, but might not suit all tastes with its carpets and curtains. Because it was so warm during our stay, it would have been nice to have a place to sit outside and enjoy the weather other than the terrace facing the parking lot.
Considering the facilities, the hotel was quite expensive, but Oxford is a beautiful city with so much to see, and there are many lovely cafès and restaurants in the area, so the location is very nice.
Such a nice and old-fashioned hotel in a remarkably beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theVIPfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
0.8 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Property: Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing