We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Rooms - Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is very well located for visiting the sites of Oxford, walk into town is approx 15mins, or you can take bus from outside. The staff in the hotel are very pleasant and keen to help, food in restaurant very good. Room was comfortable but fixtures and fittings were dated (could definitely do with revamp). Stayed in one of the named rooms on first floor, be aware if you have any mobility problems that bathroom/toilet and bedroom area in the rooms are on different levels which require you to use a small staircase.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruddles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 813 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in late July. The reason we picked this hotel is because we had a car with us and the hotel has parking and is within walking distance of the town centre. I would have preferred to leave our car at a park and ride and stay at a nice B&B.

Like other reviewers mentioned, this hotel is overpriced. Our room was dated and tired, and overall didn't look clean. The entire hotel (or at least the parking, reception and hallways we walked in) had a weird ugly smell. To get to our room, we had to go through a part of the hotel which was being remodeled and they didn't even try to cover the mess with a screen or something, or even put up a little sing explaining the situation, or appologizing for the noise (I'm assuming the noises were because of the remodeling).
I normally don't care about noisy rooms/hotels, but these were loud thumping noises coming from above our room, not all the time but repeteadly throughout the day (and we weren't even int he room that long); they even woke us up in the middle of the night.

Overall, we were disappointed; we didn't even want to have breakfast here. However, the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdperezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a short but excellent stay in Oxford, and this hotel was a perfectly traditional start for our holiday in England.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, and seemed more than happy to help. We had a lovely dinner in the stylish restaurant, and the breakfast was even better. Very English, yet delicate food, and our different diets were never a problem.
Our room was big and luxurious, but still very cozy and warm. All the lovely details make this a splendid choice of hotel. There were big windows and comfortable chairs - a perfect place to relax and have a cup of tea.
The bathroom was also lovely - very British, but a bit old-fashioned in some ways.
The hotel itself has a cozy and warm atmosphere, but might not suit all tastes with its carpets and curtains. Because it was so warm during our stay, it would have been nice to have a place to sit outside and enjoy the weather other than the terrace facing the parking lot.
Considering the facilities, the hotel was quite expensive, but Oxford is a beautiful city with so much to see, and there are many lovely cafès and restaurants in the area, so the location is very nice.
Such a nice and old-fashioned hotel in a remarkably beautiful city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theVIPfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel looked very pleasant and the bar area was nice, but it is very overpriced! The room was no better than a Travelodge yet was about five times the price! The room also had no air conditioning and no soundproofing. It sounded like someone was running a marathon upstairs and we were woken up at about 5am by this. the service at breakfast was also very slow and the staff didn't seem to know what they were doing but it was very busy when we stayed so that may explain the service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngtraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Avoid this hotel It looks like perfect : nice location but it has no soundproofing, you can share a lot of things with your neighbours : TV, voice, footsteps, shower sounds....) in addition there is no A/C which is not acceptable for a 4 star hotel even in Oxford ! so horrible heat in the rooms and you can't open the windows !!!!
Impossible to sleep !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard75003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is in easy strolling distance for the city centre. We arrived early, when to reception, where the staff were happy for us to check-in ( room not ready until 3) and leave our car ( there's ample parking). Our room although clean, it was very dated with 80's potted flower print curtains, headboard and throw. I was speechless! The furniture was very tired too. Bed very comfortable, though we didn't have a great night sleep, as no air-con when the temperature outside is a least 20! There was a fan which just blew the hot air around. Bathroom shower is the not best and the only way I could put my contact lens in was to squeeze one leg between the sink and loo, so my face was close enough to the mirror to see! Breakfast was good and all the staff we meet were nice. But it's over priced @ £200 for a Saturday night and the rooms need a complete over haul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had been in a hotel that was a nightmare the night before. The staff here was gracious, and the room was clean and comfortable - and easily accessed. The bed was wonderful. And the restaurant served delicious meals. I would have liked to have taken this place with me as we journeyed on.

Room Tip: Rooms off the patio are comfortable and don't need air conditioning. The fan works beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,862 reviews
1.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $124 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing