We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many stars in Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Too many stars in Oxford”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel styles itself as 4 star. It is not but it is a perfectly adequate 3 star hotel, well situated for visiting Oxford so why do the owners feel the need to over-state their status? Unfortunately, with the demise of independent and anonymous inspectors, hotels can award themselves whatever star rating they fancy!
We stayed three nights and found its location, about 1 mile from the centre, to be ideal. It also has its own parking which is always at a premium in Oxford and it is on a bus route as well. Cotswold Lodge is a Victorian house with most of the rooms in a 30 plus year old (my estimate) extension.
Rooms small and in need of a revamp and redecoration. Worse for some people is the absence of any lifts for accessing 1st and 2nd floors. No one offered to carry up my cases.
Like much of this winter, February was cold and snowy in Oxford but the heating was pre-set for the whole hotel, taking no account of room variations. We were cold even wtih the stat at maximum. Duvet old and very thin.
The bathroom was colder than the bedroom and was oddly lit with very old LED lamps that took up to 5 minutes to reach full power as did all first generation LEDs. Initially, on entering the bathroom we were gropping around in the gloom! The hot water took for ever to work its way through the antigue heating system, so long in fact that I thought the supply had run out!
Breakfast. In this department he hotel redeemed itself. Excellent buffet style meal with a freshly cooked, hot choice. No stale egg and bacon left on warming plates here. The choice of cereals, breads and fruit were all excellent and the dining room staff were friendly and even remembered us unlike the rest of the hotel staff who were not very knowledgeable and did not bother to learn our name or personalise our welcome.
We did not dine here but I found the bar to be overpriced.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Victorian House are large and better appointed but suffer from road noise. The ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    263
    150
    56
    33
See reviews for
117
308
40
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having stayed in a few other hotels in Oxford I was very happy to return to the Cotswold Lodge as it offers a better standard and location than other hotels of a similar price in Oxford. The hotel is well located in easy reach of the town centre and has ample parking if you are arriving by car. The rooms are adequately equipped, but as I find with many UK hotels there was no Iron and Ironing board in the room. When I did request these they arrived promptly. The hotel bar is very comfortable and the bar food ordered was of a good standard. Breakfast was varied and included a choice of a cooked breakfsat or standard continental. Overall this hotel offers good accomodation and service and is a favourable choice for business or leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the night and was ideally located for walking in to Oxford, also good as has packing, found the hotel bar &breakfast to but very expensive, areas of the hotel seemed dated and could do with a lick on paint to Freshen it up, staff friendly and remember who we were during our stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pv1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My mother and I stayed for 3 nights and were treated very well indeed. Everybody smiled and went the extra mile for us. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable and the food delicious.

The only quibble was that the beds didn't have feather duvets and pillows. It would have been good to have been given the choice. We would recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Negatives
-Room size and style, tired decor Cheap + tacky furnishings.
Painfully slow wifi
No heating/aircon
Walls/ceiling paper thin
Carpet was so old worn and paper thin.

Positives
Location + easy parking
Front and rear entrance
Free wifi
Complimentary Shower cap + really nice bar of soap!
Comfy bed

Was really pleased I was granted early check-in. Room was tiny, could just about fit round the bed. Not ideal for 2 people! Decor was dated, bathroom was dated even the vile wall pictures weren't put up straight.

I'm a deep sleeper but even I got woken by the stampeeds of people coming back from breakfast! Then I had a cupboard outside my room where I think the bar store their stock, all I could hear was banging. I could heard the guest aboves every toilet movement.

The wifi although free was painfully slow.

I paid around #120 for my room without breakfast. RIP OFF

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Once again, we found our overnight stay an excellent experience. The staff were particularly helpful on this occasion - reception allowed an early check in and, when a summoned taxi failed to appear, the manager actually got out his car and drove us in the rain to a college reception. Room as usual was clean and warm and the food good. Will continue to recommend this hotel for its excellent value and exceptional staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimPat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is not cheap, not for a stop-over, but it is comfortable, charming, and traditional. I was visiting for the weekend and stayed two nights satisfied because I wanted to splurge a bit. Had a negative first impression when told at 12:30 that I could wait in the bar for 30 minutes while room is prepared, then I had to check back with reception twice and was finally given access to the room at 3:15! Thereafter, however, no problems and service at desk, luggage, bar and restaurant were well above expectation with staff addressing me respectfully by name. Doting attendance at breakfast, friendly and fast in relaxing bar-lounge, luggage delivered to room without asking. Beware: if you are upstairs above another guest room. You can hear other guest's loud conversations and televisions...clearly! Nevertheless, when I am looking for a quality experience in Oxford again, I will consider returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.7 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Property: Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing