We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit, sorry looking a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Third visit, sorry looking a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Always loved this hotel, and book into the same room, very surprised on the third visit to still see the staines on the what now is a very grubby carpet. Only stayed one night of the two booked and paid for (yes it was a good deal), but as the room above had a very noisy guest and it could certainly do with some sound insulation in between floors. On a positive note the restaurant and food was as fabulous as ever, you couldnt wish for better service and quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    260
    148
    56
    33
See reviews for
116
301
39
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely Hotel, Some Friendly Staff (Found most European) Room very cold at night Heating very sparse as heard & found Hotel had latter on timer?? Breakfast not very appetising for £12.50 (Half piece of bacon smallest egg I've ever seen Sausage not much bigger than a chipolata HALF a black pudding slice, teaspoon of Beans & teaspoon of Mushrooms) when toast arrived 1/2 white slice 1/2 slice of brown (more like slightly singe bread) but rest of breakfast OK. Would have preferred Buffet style. One morning requested Kippers, came 1/2 Kipper slightly bigger than fish finger with one poached egg.
Dinner menu expensive & only 1 dish changed daily but pretty picture on plate.
Everything extra expensive (Plate of Chips that looked like they came from McDonalds £2.50)
Bar prices Cheaper than local Pubs/Bars in area.
Requested extra heater supplied but saw a guest checking out one morning with a personal fan heater

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I'd rate this a 3 star hotel with the discolouration of the paintwork and the broken tiles on bathroom floor. Definitely time for a refurb guys. Would expect more for my money, especially since our cheap deal cost in the region of £120 for a night without breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a fabulous deal we had at this hotel! Every room was exceptionally clean, the bedroom and bathroom were immaculate. Our evening meal was one of the very best I have had in a long time.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and looks quite recent as every thing is in good order. I will definately return as it's extremely handy to take a walk into Oxford center without actually being bang in the middle of all the bustle. The Drawing room was like something out of a Jane Austin novel. The bar was cosy (maybe a little chilly, thought it was snowing outside)! Reception was efficient and friendly. Thank you to all at the Cotswold Lodge, we will be seeing you again!

Room Tip: Enjoy your stay, it's a beautiful hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brysonbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is fine for a night away.We had a standard twin dinner bed and breakfast was £145 which I thought was quite expensive for a Sunday night.The room was fine but I could here some one snoring upstairs so got very little sleep.The most disapointing aspect was dinner.The menu was limited to I think four starters and main courses one of which was sold out.We both had roast beef which was dry and over cooked,the potatoes tasted like they had been kept warm for some time and there were hardly any vegetables.Having said the negatives the hotel is very well located,the staff are lovely and the big bonus is free parking.I would stay again and walk to one of the many near by restaurants for dinner.Just to add the breakfast looked very good with lots of choice we opted for a quick cup of coffee as sadly we didn't have time for a full english.

Room Tip: probably better off in a superior room upstairs we were on the ground floor so could hear every time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moriondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband booked the Merton Room for the Valentines Meal, on arrival the staff were very professional, obliging and polite.
The room was beautiful and clean, such a surprise to have a bottle of champagne and flowers waiting in our room. The Valentines meal was superb, and the staff and service was excellent. Truly a perfect wonderful and relaxing evening.
Totally reccommended.

Elaine Martindale
Bicester, Oxfordshire

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have just returned from a stay at the Cotswold having spent a very pleasant night there to celebrate my wifes birthday.We stayed in one of the feature rooms (The Keble) which was very well stocked with tea and coffee and various toiletries,the bed was very comfortable with ample seating space.However the room seems a little tired and would benefit from updating of paint and wall coverings.
Dinner in the restaurant was a very pleasant experience and whilst the menu wasn't vast it was very adequate well prepared and presented with a good selection of wines starting at a very reasonable £16.50 per bottle.
Overall the staff were very attentive,courteous and welcoming.I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good base from which to explore this fine city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.7 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Property: Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing