We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff awful facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great staff awful facilities”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The staff were warm friendly and helpful, however I was in a room were things were just not right;
The toilet seat was broken, the heating system was very noisy waking me up every time it did anything. The soap dispenser in the shower wasn't working, I had to mend it myself while showering.
They only gave us one towel dispite booking the room for two. Add to the misery, every move the folk in the room above made carried right through.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramzoozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    271
    153
    56
    33
See reviews for
120
319
43
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've stayed at the Cotswold Lodge a number of times, usually in preference to other Oxford hotels. It is one of the best. It's close to the city and to the shops of Summertown and North Parade. It's got parking for free and (slowish, but functional) internet access for free. It has a full bar and excellent restaurant. Many hotels have some of these amenities. None I've come across, though, has the first-rate care and attention of the Cotswold Lodge staff. All of the staff are wonderful. I stayed in one of the college-themed rooms this trip (Lincoln). It was gorgeous: huge curtained bed, armchairs, luxury bathroom. I didn't even need earplugs to sleep, the room was so quiet. During my stair, I had room service, which was prompt, serving very high quality food for reasonable prices. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Oxford.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good and the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was within walking distance of Oxford town centre, had good reviews and was in our price range.
It lived up to expectations with very friendly staff who were happy to help and an excellent breakfast. The only negative as far as we were concerned was our terrible mattress on the first night (it was changed for our second night). Even though this caused discomfort and a poor night's sleep the staff were very helpful and tried their best to help with extra duvet's to make the bed more comfortable. They also gave us a discount for the first night.
I would however recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Oxford and would definitely return there myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have had our reunion at this hotel and never been disappointed. The hotel is very flexible and catered very well for our requirements and combinations of meals. It is also extremely convenient - a 15 minute walk into the centre of Oxford. Will definitely be ack.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloucestershire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
263 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My biggest complaint about this hotel was the heating. On arrival in the hotel I had to sit in my room with my coat on as it was so cold! The heating, we were told, was on a timer & would come on late afternoon, but if we needed it there was an electric heater in the wardrobe! When we returned from a late dinner it was cold again as the heating has switched off! There is something wrong with a hotel that does not put it's guests comfort first. You can be economical with heating without requiring them to wear a coat inside! This was such a shame as the room was pleasant, the location good & the staff helpful. Breakfasts were very good & made to order for a change. I would not stay here in winter again.

Room Tip: Don't go in winter or pack your thermals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here while visiting my son, and was very happy. I got a deal on "laterooms" booked via tripadvisor, so the double was 115 - not cheap, but this is the middle of Oxford. We had a superior double, which was spacious, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. It is true the bathroom lights are very dull, but you just have to leave them on all evening, and they are then fine. The only slight wrinkle was a drumbeat from music from the next house where students live. Next time I'd complain to the reception so they could do something. Otherwise, comfy, with a homely feel. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Friday night reunion in Oxford for my husband with some ex-colleagues and stayed at the Cotswold Lodge a 15 min walk
from city centre. Our room the Keble room, very spacious. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was spacious with a great shower and plenty of hot water. I liked the smaller sitting were we met for drinks, it had lovely comfy sofas and an open fire. Staff are great and nothing is too much trouble. We skipped cooked breakfast as we are trying to be healthy! The breakfast buffet has a good selection of cereal yoghurt fresh fruit etc and the cooked breakfast looked very nice. The hotel is situated on the Banbury Road which is a leafy suburb of the city the further out you get. There was a monthly
farmers Market in a side street opposite the hotel. Lovely hotel to stay at for a weekend break. Why not treat yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySallyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,738 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Property: Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing