We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
1 review
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

It's fine for what it is: a run of the mill B&B with creaky floorboards which means you can hear every step taken by the guest staying in the room above you. Service is functional but indifferent. Location is on a busy hence noisy trunk road into Oxford, but that does mean that it is pretty straight forward arriving by car and getting into Oxford by foot. However, the price charged is too high for what it is. The only noticeable feature of the feature room is the larger size of the room itself. In fact, given how sparsely furnished the one we stayed in is it was actually a slightly cold feeling room. Overall, an average stay that is poor in value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    260
    148
    56
    33
See reviews for
116
301
39
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed for one night in two single rooms. Both were in the new annexe, clean and well appointed. There was ample hot water, the shower was powerful and although not large the room was large enough for one night in comfort.
Provision of free wi-fi, acknowledged as slower, or payment for high speed access was appreciated. I used the free version and it was good enough re basic browsing.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. We did not eat so cannot comment on food.
Be aware that this hotel is 15 minutes walk (approx.) north of the city centre, but there are a number of buses that connect either with the centre or rail station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hezz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed 1 night on Friday 22 June as a stopover on our way down to Somerset. The Hotel is in a very convenient location, has free car parking & is quiet even though it is only a 20 mins walk from Oxford Town Centre. We had a room in the annexe which although small, was fine for a one night stay. We were on Dinner Bed & Breakfast tariff and found it to be very good value for money. The food was lovely, the Staff very friendly and attentive. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a good sized and well maintained room with bath and all the usual extras. Very good bar and lounge areas with a fantastic breckfast buffet in the morning. resonably value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in June in the Exeter room of the hotel. The bar and the lounge are exquisite places. Parking is easy and the distance to the city is <15 minutes. The room is very nicely decorated but is actually nicer than practical. The room is smallish and the hotel has no airco which was only a little problem in cold June but is probably an issue in warmer weather. The view from the large window is the ventilation pipe of I guess the kitchen and some flat roofs. The restaurant is quite adequate. At the price of 187 pounds per night including continental breakfast I would however hesitate to recommend the place. Unless one wants to pay mostly for atmosphere and style.

Room Tip: The reason why the price was so high is probably because we stayed in a 'feature' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Good points

Location to city centre for price you pay – 20 minutes’ walk or a very regular #2 bus from right outside the hotel

Nice room if a little on the small side

A wedding was taking place on the 1st night of our stay – we were adequately informed of potential additional noise both upon making the reservation AND via an e-mail a week before our stay. There was no additional noise and we were not disturbed.

Helpful reception staff.

A typical English hotel, nice to get away from the sterile, ubiquitous square soulless rooms of chain hotels

Could improve

Water – the shower was painfully annoying running hot then cold. British plumbing at its best

Aircon – non-existent on a very hot weekend although a fan was provided and the room cleaner DID leave the curtains closed – we expected her/him to open them and thus turn the room into an oven. Plus points for not doing so.

Breakfast service (this really annoyed me as we wanted a quick getaway). We were shown to our table and coffee/tea/toast was brought fairly quickly. We ordered our main cooked breakfast and at this time two other couples arrived to occupy neighbouring tables and did the same. The other two couples had received AND eaten their cooked breakfast before we even got ours. When querying what happened, our breakfasts were brought but it was very obvious they’d been sitting under hot lamps for some time and were completely dried out.

I would stay here again as I found it a homely, comfortable hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day break at the Cotswold Lodge Hotel. Although it was a 'good'
walk into the city centre it was worth it to stay at such a lovely hotel. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel 3 nights and the food was delicious. But the very best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were efficient and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A big thank you to you all for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.7 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Property: Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing