We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Delightful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed May 15, 2012

What a delightful find - a member of the Classic British Hotels (www.classicbritishhotels.com)having just returned from our second visit to this hotel I write this review to bring the readers attention to this little gem where I am confident you will find a warm welcome and exemplary service from all the staff. It is convenient for Oxford City centre, a short walk or a few minutes on the bus. The bus stop is almost right outside the hotel providing a regular service and is better than driving as the parking charges in Oxford are rather high and when exploring Oxford it is good not to have to rush back to the car in order to avoid a parking penalty. Without exception the staff are both friendly and efficient, Ann Marie (reception) Clive (Head of Housekeeping) are worthy of special thanks along with the new French Chef who cooked four superb evening meals during our stay and not forgetting the General Manager Mr. Fallon who is in overall charge of an extremely well run hotel which serves excellent food and represents good value for money, providing easy access to the sights of Oxford. The restaurant staff provided excellent service without being intrusive. We will no doubt return to this excellent and well run hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonshireWrinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 784 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel several times and was always made to feel welcome. The staff are friendly and the food in the restaurant is really good quality. Just 10 mins from the city center and perfect for a short stay in Oxford.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the French doors leading onto the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Zurich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Welcoming and very helpful staff, very high standards of cleanliness throughout. Dining room team excellent, as are the bar staff. General manager very welcoming and interested in one's opinion. Would stay again, recommend to others, thank you team.
Location 10/10 for access.

Room Tip: The Merton suite is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My absolute favorite hotel. Extremely friendly staff. Excellent food. Quiet, comfortable rooms. I won't stay anywhere else in Oxford, and I've tried quite a few.

Room Tip: Well worth the price to upgrade to one of the luxury rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shep_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I got a last minute deal at the this very nice hotel and stayed there for one night, this Sunday. The hotel looks lovely, generous parking, and a warm welcome (inc. an offer to help with my luggage). My room was twin bedded and on the ground floor. Very quiet, very clean, but really, really warm. Despite immediately opening the window to try and cool the room. I couldn't find a thermostat and actually, the heat did bother me and made it difficult to sleep. Maybe if I'd been staying for longer I might have contacted reception.

I found the bed very bouncey! The thing with beds is you'll never satisfy everyone, but I would have liked one feather pillow rather than the three that were offered. Again, I must stress, I didn't give the hotel the chance to offer an alternative. So please keep that in mind - it may not be a negative.

There was tea, coffee, biscuits and soap, flannel and shower cap in the room, as well as a comprehensive guide to the hotel, and free wifi.

The bar was great, good selection and it was nice to dump my stuff and go for a drink and unwind. I didn't have breakfast so cannot comment, but was a little on the steep side at £9ish for the continental option.

Final point, I really appreciated that because my meeting wasn't until late afternoon the next day, and I'd never been to Oxford, they let me leave my car in the carpark for a couple of hours after I had checked out. It was really appreciated. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retrogooseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a DBB deal through classic hotels and had a lovely break. The hotel is in a great position for exploring oxford it was just a 10 minute stroll into the centre of the city. The food was delicious and the service was great.We had a standard room which was lovely and cosy on what turned out to be a cold weekend. We really enjoyed the open fire in the lounge with its comfy sofas after a lovely dinner in the restaurant ( and a pint in the bar!!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

What I love about this hotel are the unique rooms. Okay you have to go to the higher end of the room rates, but the reward is excellent in terms of individuality and style. It is true that you could stay at the 5* hotel down the road and be slightly closer to town, but that hotel is decidedly frosty and old-fashioned. This hotel is far better placed for Raymond Blanc's Brasserie and right opposite an alley full of exciting Bistro restaurants and unusual pubs!

The hotel has a thriving restaurant of its own. Sadly we had a date with some relatives and could not go this time. Breakfast is great.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get one of the rooms in the main building because that is where the character lli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dweckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.8 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $138 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing