We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, professional cocktail bar with fantastic drinks”
Review of Raoul's

Raoul's
Ranked #2 of 54 Nightlife in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly, professional cocktail bar with fantastic drinks”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We visited on a Friday early evening. It wasn't too busy.

The bar staff were friendly and welcoming.

The cocktails were well made, well presented and very tasty.

The decor looks a bit dated and could do with a re-vamp. Toilets were clean and fresh.

Value wise, I would say that it's pretty good. There are no Happy Hour gimmicks or promotions, just a huge menu of cocktails being prepared by Professional staff who take pride in their work.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithsonianUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    16
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They make a mean Cocktail”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

On our walk from our hotel to where we were going to eat we came across Raoul's which was recommended by one of our group. A very enjoyable experience, we all chose something different and were not disappointed. Good service and really good cocktails. The place is small and likely to fill up quickly but if you are just passing then it is ideal for those pre meal drinks etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice cocktails but crowded”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Chose to visit here based on the reviews on tripadvisor.

Lovely freshly made cocktails and helpful / entertaining bar staff. Reasonable prices ~ £7-8 a cocktail.

Crowded (especially after the hen night arrived downstairs, but it was a Saturday night) but worth staying for a while.

Get there early to get a table or chairs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank YellowVurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This cocktail bar was recommended to us by the concierge at the Randolph hotel. He said we would be amazed by the things they did with fruit, and he was not wrong! We had an amazing night in here, had a few of the wonderfully unique cocktails then enjoyed a lovely dinner at an independent restaurant they recommended then finished our evening off back for more cocktails. The menu is out of this world some of the best cocktails I have ever seen and tasted and they also made things off menu based on out requirements. A really fun evening and would definitely go again if we visit the town again and will be highly recommending it to everyone we now

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKnight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Rude staff, wrong drinks, forgot about food”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I went back to this bar as it was an old favourite from my time at university and was hugely disappointed.

Aside from completely forgetting our food order (to which we received no apology) we were served the wrong cocktails which halfway through drinking it was announced to the entire bar belonged to the table next door - awkward?! (Also no apology).

Badly let down by service. Overall a very rude and frustrating experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimonJM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raoul's also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Raoul's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing