We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tour”
Review of Cycle Tours Oxford

Cycle Tours Oxford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the Glorious city of Oxford, the bicycle is a tradition almost as famous as the dreaming spires themselves; so come rain or shine, winter or summer, Cycle Tours Oxford Limited, (Oxford’s Original Bicycle tour company) provide picturesque, eco-friendly, fun, premium guided vintage cycle tours of Oxford’s rich and fascinating history.If that wasn't enough we also provide themed tours to suit all, so why not join us on our Alice Tour, Can you spot the white rabbit and help Alice escape the Queen of Hearts in time to find her way to the ultimate tea party where amazing delights await! or come after dark to uncover some of the mystic mysteries, legends, and tales of vagabonds and murder that the city has to tell. Our tours run twice daily,(10am and 2pm)& (7.30pm for the Twilight tour) meeting outside Baillol college on Broad street, opposite the tourist information centre.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were lucky to have a beautiful sunny day in early September and the Oxford streets were fairly qiuet before all the students had returned. Darna was our guide, sweet natured and knowledgeable. Our bikes were funny rattly old things with a big basket on the front, my bicycle bell was independantly ringing throughout all the bumpy bits of which there were plenty as apart from occasional cobble stones in the lovely backstreets of Oxford, we also went out of the city in to the countryside along the bumpy river bank to a lovely little pub, the White Hart in the nearby village of Wytham. The bikes were rattly but the breaks worked well and very few gear changes were needed. We were only a small group (3) so it was easy to hear what Darna was telling us at each stop. It was a good combination of interesting facts about the history of Oxford's beautiful buildings and famous people past and present and then the trip out to the country pub. All in all great fun and a lovely day.

1  Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CycleToursOxford, Owner at Cycle Tours Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks so much for such a positive review. We take a lot of pride in what we do and to hear such positive feedback fill us with encouragement. Yes, the bikes are original, authentic Pashley’s and the rather old fashioned character of their design means they can be a bit rattly at times. It all adds to the experience. :-) We do have them regularly serviced however and we are reliably informed they are in good working order. The White Hart in Wytham is one of our most popular stop-off points. A real authentic old English Pub serving great local produce; a real hidden gem I'm sure you will agree.

Thanks again for the positive response and we are very are pleased you had such a wonderful experience we hope to see you again soon when you are back in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We took a tour of Oxford by bike with Cycle Tours Oxford, and it was EXCELLENT. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and personable, the bikes worked fine too. We took the spires and shires tour of (6 hours) which enabled us see several parts of Oxford and to go farther afield about 5 miles away from the city. It was a gorgeous day, ... what more could you ask for. The tour company was very good at communicating with us, and initially we had our tour scheduled for Saturday but had to move it to Monday due to the rain, and they were more than willing to do that.

After taking multiple tours of other cities primarily by bus or on foot, I feel bicycle is by far the best way to get around; because you don't get as tired thus enabling you enjoy the day, and you don't miss anything either because you can go every where you would go on foot, just quicker.

Loved the tour, love the city, ... before the tour was over we already decided we were going to come back again and see more of the city by bike.

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CycleToursOxford, Owner at Cycle Tours Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for such a positive and flattering review. We take an awful lot of pride in the service we offer and it is truly rewarding when we receive such feedback. Spires and Shires is one of our more popular tours and a good summers day it can give that perfect blend of the culture of Oxford City and the surrounding areas of outstanding natural beauty. We are particularly proud of this tour.

If you do come back to Oxford, we hope you use us again since we offer many different tours and can maybe show you a part of Oxford you would otherwise have missed. Given such flattering feedback as this, we would love to buy you a drink :-D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I would love to be able to tell you how wonderful the tour was but unfortunately this company didn't give us the chance to experience it! We rang them at 10am to book on a twilight tour but explained we would be happy to attend an afternoon tour instead. They said it may be difficult to get a twilight tour running but would contact us within a couple of hours. Finally, after spending the day in Oxford at other attractions, they text us at 6pm to explain that the twilight tour would not be running.
We fully understand that tours cannot always run if there are not enough people but it would have been the very basic in customer service to contact us when they said they would and not leave us waiting all day and without opportunity to then book something else for our evening in Oxford. Very disappointing.

1  Thank Joneson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CycleToursOxford, General Manager at Cycle Tours Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We are very sorry for your disappointing experience with our customer service team. We always endeavour to provide the best customer service possible and we are generally proud of our customer care team. It is clear that there has been a failure here however and whatever the reason for that failure it is unacceptable on our part.

We would like to say however that all tour queries are logged as are our attempts to contact customers. I can therefore assure you, by simply looking at the details of this particular enquiry, that our care team had in fact attempted to contact you throughout the day. It was only at 6pm, having not been able to connect a call, that we chose to send an SMS.

However, we would like to offer you, as an apology for this foul-up, a discounted tour to be conducted by the Managing Director herself at a time that is suitable for you. Please contact us on 07741818979 to arrange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

On our short break in England we visited Oxford for a few days. Biking around with our guide we hot a very good picture of this lovely city. The tour went also along the river Thames and gave us the opportunity for a wonderfull lunch at the countryside.

Thank Evert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I’ve only been in Oxford a couple of months working here and the city of Oxford is swarming in bikes, everyone seems to have a bike and so I wanted to get my family in on the action and decided to see the city by bike. I’d heard of Cycle Tours Oxford through a work friend and apparently they’re quite famous in Oxford with their beautiful old-fashioned bicycles. What can I say, we was not disappointed by Cycle tours of Oxford. We got to ride on traditional English bikes down little cobbled alleyways that I never knew existed. The tour was a very long tour and I thought at one point it would not end but you really do get an in-depth view of the city and all the main attractions, we even got to go to a place called Jericho and see the famous Oxford University Press and the oldest monument in all of Oxford. I never stopped laughing the stories our guide told was so funny. I can’t recommend Cycle tours of Oxford enough the whole experience was AMAZING! We even had a refreshment break in the coolest little tucked away pub in Oxford. If you coming to Oxford I would highly recommend seeing the city by Bike you really feel like a true Oxford local.

Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cycle Tours Oxford also viewed

 

Been to Cycle Tours Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing