We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Pub”
Review of Beerd

Beerd
Ranked #78 of 635 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Beerd is the sole surviving Victorian pub in Oxford city centre, offering an extensive range of local and world beers from artisan and independent breweries, and delicious Italian-style pizzas. Inspired by craft beer bars in the US, visitors to Beerd are greeted by an ever changing beer list available in one-third, half, two-third and pint measures. Friendly and knowledgeable staff are on-hand to guide you through the mouth-watering range, whether you're a hops novice or bonafide beer geek, and an eclectic and colourful bespoke décor makes for a stimulating sensory experience designed to offer beer enthusiasts a point of difference - but with a great range of wines, cider, spirits and soft drinks too! Food is served throughout the day and hungry patrons can tuck into freshly-made, hand-crafted Neopolitan-style pizzas. For a quick nibble, premium bar snacks match the global beer on offer, including bar dough, crispy pig skins and cured meat platters. Situated in a prime location, the pub's curiously traditional exterior stands out from the surrounding identikit chain bars and restaurants, whilst the new, lovingly restored interior envelops you with a warm welcome.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Little Pub”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Found this little pub by accident. Wonderful beer and a great selection, staff knowledgable and helpful. Food was glorious,best Fish & Chips ever and we live by the sea.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hi Sarah W

Glad to hear you enjoyed, hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

James & Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    85
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Avoid the food. Poor menu, badly cooked and tiny portions”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My experience at The Grapes has been absolutely to forget. I have booked with 24h in advanced asking for a table for 4 and a Sunday Lunch option.
At the phone I have been told about 2 different roast options (beef and pork) beside the usual menu.

We arrived to the pub on time and we sat to our table. We got the menu and, after asking for the daily Sunday Roast, we discovered that only beef was available.
I appreciate the pub claims all food to be locally sourced, however, how can you run out of one of your two daily options (at 2pm on a Sunday)? No sense.

After a few of minutes, we discovered that also the fish and chips was not going to be served. In summary, a menu with only 6 main dishes available, and 3 of them are kind of pies?

Ok, we are there and we have to eat. We order 2 roast beef, a lamb casserole and a fish pie. This is the result:
- The beef is so overcooked that has become a chewing gum. The Yorkshire pudding is completely burned and we can't eat it.
- The lamb casserole has 2 pieces of lamb. When I say 2 I mean 2. We asked to the waitress if we can please get an adult portion because this looks like a child menu. The answer is a sad "this is how we usually serve it".
- The fish pie is exactly the same you can get on the ready meal at the supermarket on the corner.

To the pub management, please avoid writing here below the standard comment saying that you are sorry about the experience.
One of the waitresses asked us if everything was ok, we answered that it wasn't and nobody asked for any further explanation.

In the future we will absolutely avoid any Bath Ale pub.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Limmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
As requested by the reviewer I shall not respond directly to them but I shall address it to any folk who have read it as its a fabrication,which the team who were working that day are duly upset by..
- There was no request for Sunday lunch at booking, we would most certainly kept some back if we had been asked to..
- Food is locally sourced every time we can, however no supplier or shop would be open on Bank Holiday Sunday
- We have 6 day deliveries to ensure that our customers eat daily prepared fresh food & not items that are cooked in huge amounts. This in turn means a smaller menu and a smaller holding to ensure the freshness, I do not hold food in fridges for days so when an item is gone, its gone until we make a fresh batch with fresh ingredients.
- If the Beef had been mentioned then we would have absolutely replaced it, with out question, we are fully aware that we can't get it right every time so feel this is just a basic service.
- With the Lamb Stew, extra was offered when it was mentioned and then after finishing the meal both times declined.. In-fact the lady who served them is completely unaware of the words Limmone claims to have used, apparently the person eating was full anyway and did not require anymore - am not sure where the statement came from?
- The Fish Pie is most definitely not from a supermarket, just a wonderful selection of fresh fish chunks cooked here by us..

We do not know where Limmone got these ideas from but the tone in the writing is clearly meant to scathe which is not what this website is all about.

We are not perfect but we constantly aim for the starts when it comes to service & quality, if we get it wrong we like to fix it straight away.We enjoy what we do and love it when people join us in our enjoyment

Many Thanks

James Dixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“poor meal.”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were on a day trip to Oxford and decided to have a pub meal.
There were two or three people in the pub, so was not sure if they were open for food .
They were. We ordered three meals which they didn't have, so decided on chicken pie.
Its was so long in coming we were going to cancel the order. When it arrived, it didn't look very appetizing. Having started to eat we found it was a ham pie, We didn't mind too much so carried on eating. as the barman was passing I ask what happen to the chicken pie ?. He went into the kitchen came out and never came back to us. On paying the bill I asked again about the pie,HIs words were Its got some chicken in it. Not a places to eat.Having read the reviews I will have to say the barman was chatty till I asked him about the meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi roy1232,

Very sad to hear you had such a bad time here, its not something which happens often as you can see from all our other reviews..

With regards to the running out of dishes I'm afraid that's the joys of fresh food, we make everything here in the kitchen daily and what our customers get served has not seen a freezer or a microwave in its life, we make prep in smaller batches twice daily so to keep the quality at its highest. Although the pie was not as you had hoped you do not mention anything with regards to taste/quality so I can only assume you approved.

I do hope this visit hasn't put you off and that you come and see us again soon

Many Thanks

James Dixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mid Shopping Trip Lunch”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Wandering around Oxford on my birthday on Friday it was an easy choice to pop into the grapes for lunch, having eaten in the sister pubs the salamander, hop pole & graze in bath it was a no brainier. The grapes doesn't pretend to be anything other than an un pretentious English pub serving good beer and ales & uncomplicated food and at that it succeeds! Black pudding croquettes & cheesey beer on toast to start followed by the burger & pie of the day, i couldn't even finish it all, very tasty and clearly all home made on site! Friendly Smiley Service. Drinks & 2 course lunch for under £30 it was good value too! i know where i will be going next time im in Oxford and hungry!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Tom K,

Many thanks for your kind words here, as a pleasure looking after you both on the day.

Hope to see you again soon

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Old style pub and nice for a drink”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We popped in to this pub for a drink whilst having a day out in oxford. This is an old looking pub with a wide range of drink options. We didn't eat but saw a few that were and the food didn't look too bad.
The batman was very chatty and friendly, which is always nice. Will visit again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruthy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Ruthy1982,

May thanks for your kind words, glad to hear you enjoyed

Hope to see you again soon

Cheers

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beerd also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Beerd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing