We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A proper drinkers' pub”
Review of Beerd

Beerd
Ranked #71 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beerd is the sole surviving Victorian pub in Oxford city centre, offering an extensive range of local and world beers from artisan and independent breweries, and delicious Italian-style pizzas. Inspired by craft beer bars in the US, visitors to Beerd are greeted by an ever changing beer list available in one-third, half, two-third and pint measures. Friendly and knowledgeable staff are on-hand to guide you through the mouth-watering range, whether you're a hops novice or bonafide beer geek, and an eclectic and colourful bespoke décor makes for a stimulating sensory experience designed to offer beer enthusiasts a point of difference - but with a great range of wines, cider, spirits and soft drinks too! Food is served throughout the day and hungry patrons can tuck into freshly-made, hand-crafted Neopolitan-style pizzas. For a quick nibble, premium bar snacks match the global beer on offer, including bar dough, crispy pig skins and cured meat platters. Situated in a prime location, the pub's curiously traditional exterior stands out from the surrounding identikit chain bars and restaurants, whilst the new, lovingly restored interior envelops you with a warm welcome.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A proper drinkers' pub”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely selection of Bath Ales which you can have a 'taster' of before buying. The American Ale was also very good. Their fish and chips were some of the nicest I have ever had, although I thought the portion was on the small side and I could have done without the pea puree which accompanied. Nicely presented on a newspaper and the fish itself was delicious with thin, crispy beer batter. We managed to find a seat because we went in early at lunchtime but the pub soon filled to capacity. It's a really welcoming place, warm and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gardenlover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Gardenlover13 and thankyou for your kind words here..

Our Fish and Chips is a real Grapes favourite and I'm glad you enjoyed it, apologies if you felt the portion to be a bit small, we are very lucky (and proud) to be cooking all the food here and not using packaged meals so to fix a portion size is not a probem at all.
As for the atmosphere and service you recieved this makes me and my team very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Many Thanks
James & Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    84
    25
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful English Pub”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Brilliant traditional relaxing pub experience. Great service, lovely bar food good selection of beers. Overall well worth a visit

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dublin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello and many thanks for your kind words.

We are very proud of our city centre pub and strive every day to keep and improve upon the standards of what you have mentioned..a good traditional pub experience is very hard to find these days and hearing that you enjoyed it makes what we do all the more worth while

Really hope we'll see you soon next time you're in this wonderful city of Spires

Many Thanks
James & Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Brilliant pub, reasonable food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

As a pub, this place is brilliant (5 stars). A wide variety of ale, lager, and cider, including a Belgian import lager and the lovely Bath Ales range. The seating is comfortable and I've yet to have trouble getting one.

As a place to eat, it's only average (3 stars). The food is good, but the portions small (lunch appropriate) and charged at dinner rates (£8-9). The menu is quite short and only had one vegetarian option.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripleplay97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Tripleplay97 and thankyou for your recent review.

Thankyou for your kind words about the pub and its tasty drinks and food, hearing that people are enjoying the flavours and and quality of what we serve really does make it all worth while and as a landlord its lovely to hear these comments from people.
With regards to the portion sizes I'm sorry if you feel that they are a little small, we're very lucky to be in the situation that everything on the menu is made here by our chefs so issues like this are certainly an easy fix for us and I have addressed this already.
We are currently in the process of changing the menu and with it some new vegetarian items (A rather yummy Macaroni cheese), so please pop back in the near future and let us know what you think.

Many Thanks

James and Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best pub fish and chips”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went for Lunch its a small pub was not busy when we were there, had the pea soup which was delicious and the Fish and chips were great, lightly battered not at all greasy best we had in England this trip.

Good selection of beer and the bartender was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdolamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello pdolamore and thankyou for writing this lovely review..

We love cooking here and am really glad that you enjoyed your meal, we prepare all our food here and make the soup ourselves also, the Fish and Chips is a bit of a Grapes favourite amongst our visitors and I'm really happy that someone has enjoyed once again.

Thanks for taking the time to share this visit and I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip, you know where we are next time you're in Oxford, be lovely to see you again.

Many Thanks

James & Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Didn't stop to eat.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Really looked forward to an evening meal here after reading the glowing reviews. Walked in at 8pm to find nobody actually eating but loads of big groups of noisy drinkers. Pretty off-putting for potential diners, plus the smell on walking in was so strong that it wouldn't have been easy to have eaten in the environment - very hot and sweaty.
Sorry guys, but we went elsewhere so I can't comment on your gorgeous looking food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Beerd, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello a m

Am very sorry to read that you were unable to come and enjoy our fayre on your recent visit.
We pride ourselves on being the only proper pub on this very busy street and with that I'm afraid comes a great variety of customers every day, what makes this place so great sometimes is that no 2 days are ever the same

I hope this has not put you off coming to eat with us in the future and I shall look forward to seeing you

Many Thanks

James and Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beerd also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Beerd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing