We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, a bit noisy though!”
Review of YHA Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Oxford
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good location, a bit noisy though!”
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Hostel is located close to town which is convenient, but is a bit TOO close to the train station (pretty much on top of it) which can be quite lound at night - bring ear plugs! Dorm rooms were fairly spacious and comfortable, but rooms could get quite hot at night. The free hot b/fast was fantastic! Internet prices are way too much though. You are better of using an internet cafe in town.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Noisy!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    119
    73
    23
    20
See reviews for
48
38
69
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We booked a room last minute, because our hotel had made some bookingmistake. The hostel however was fine. Showers weren't very new or modern, but beds were ok, rooms were clean. ++ for breakfast and location

  • Liked — breakfast in the garden
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ekei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I would like to tell everyone what a wonderful place YHA Oxford is, so much so, I didn't wait to get home to do it. I am writing this after one night's stay and am actually staying there tonight as well. After doing all the research I decided to stay here and am very happy I did. My daughter is taking a class at Oxford and we will begin our European adventure in a few days. I knew I would be spending enough money on other nights' stays elsewhere and wanted to find something that would save me money wherever possible.

YHA is everything I would ever want in any place. The reception area when I arrived (at 7:00 PM) was clean and peaceful. The receptionist was wonderful and accommodating. The room was clean and the beds and bedding were new and fresh. The bathroom was clean and even the stairway smelled like soap! I was in a room with 3 bunk beds and my roommates were a grandmother and her two granddaughters. They have a great breakfast and have a lovely area to eat either inside or on the terrace outdoors. I must admit I was unsure what it would be like staying at a hostel since this is my first experience, but if the rest of my European vacation is anything like my stay here I would be very satisfied and content. Anyone unsure, like I was, where they should stay while in Oxford should not hesitate to book YHA. They will not be disappointed and in fact happy they did.

Gosia from Chicago

  • Liked — value, cleanliness, service, breakfast that was included
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My sister and I stayed here while we visited our daughters who were studying abroad for a semester. We stayed in one of the private rooms (for 2). The room was clean, simple. We had a private bathroom in our room. My only complaint about the place is the dual top sheet/bottom sheet that was on the bed was a nuisance...but with the money we saved, it was worth getting used to. Our daughters stayed in hostels all over Europe and they thought we were snobs to be staying in such a nice hostel, after some of the ones that they stayed in.

The breakfast was deliscious..not just cereal, but a hot protein rich breakfast.....eggs, ham, sausages.

  • Liked — price...great breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smipigfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Oxford

Property: YHA Oxford
Address: 2A Botley Road, Oxford OX2 0AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Oxford Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing