We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Oxford
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

we stayed for one night and were very pleased with the room, it was quite big for a 2 bedded room and very clean.
The staff were lovely and reception is staffed 24hrs which is handy.
Despite being next to the train station we wern't disturbed by trains, overall the bhostel was very quite.
Breakfast as always was lovely and very good value for all you can eat.
The communal areas were very clean and well maintained
Would definately recommned this youth hostel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    117
    73
    23
    20
See reviews for
47
38
69
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I needed somewhere cheap,friendly & near to the station to stay as the hotels that I liked the look of are v expensive in Oxford. YHA Oxford fitted the bill. Friendly, warm, relaxed or busy depending on the time of the day;in effect all things to all men.Sharing a 6 bed room is a bit odd sometimes-one night there were 4 Japanese girls and me. I slept ok after the first night though found the room stuffy. The storage is fine, the room fine & separate shower & loo for the room was fine though I prefer to use the additional, larger , shower room down the corridor.
Breakfast was OK-I didnt try the hot food. The cafe/bar is comfortable for relaxing with good coffee & the staff do their best to be kind.You can store luggage after you have checked out which is useful though there is no receipt system.All in all it was as expected & a pleasant walk into town.
Ponts to watch:
a) I had a 2nd floor room & there is no lift. I had a heavy case as had been away for the previous 7 days before.
b) it can be noisy as its right next to the station
c) the standard of cleanliness is a bit patchy in loos/showers.Its a v busy hostel
d) If you need to know something just ask;got the feeling that the staff get a bit bored having to explain stuff all the time. For example they dont say that there are showers/loos along the corridor from your room

Room Tip: Get a twin room if you can (not sure if you can book it for solo occupancy though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hostel was ok only. It was cheap-ish. Rooms were small and weren't entirely clean. The staff were not very helpful and at one stage we were given totally wrong directions. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000CST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

both days, there were dirty dishes and food leftovers in the self-catering kitchen...some people just didn't bother cleaning after themselves

Room Tip: opposite reception, first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Overall very happy. We stayed in a 6 bed bunk dorm, we had our own bathroom just for our room (so to share with the 6 beds) and it was clean and handy. We had lockers in the room and there was enough space not to be on top of everyone. There is a bar downstairs and the middle of town is about 10 mins walk so not to bad at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareyerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed just one night on a group trip to Oxford. The YHA was a short walk from the main part of the town so it was quiet while still being convenient. We had a private room with ensuite which was clean and fairly modern. Excellent value for money if you just want a place to rest your head. The staff were great and it was no problem to store our bags with them for the day after we had checked out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewey015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Overall a good stay. The room was cheap, and the room was clean. The bathroom was also clean, but a little bit dated. The only problem was the size of the shower - it was very small and the shower sprayed water directly at the door when turned on (despite the shower curtain). Most of the staff were friendly, expect for one guy who was working the night shift. I understand night shift can be depressing, but there is no need to be rude to customers.

The lounge is comfortable, and the self-catering kitchen is one of the best I have ever seen. The restaurant does a very nice breakfast, and the staff serving the food were very helpful and pleasant.

Overall a good stay, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldor_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Oxford

Property: YHA Oxford
Address: 2A Botley Road, Oxford OX2 0AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Oxford Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing