We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bocardo
Nearby Hotels
$294
$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$355
$261
Old Parsonage
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$342
$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$101
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$266
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$116
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$142
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
34
64
50
31
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
64
50
31
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge streetrooming housefriendly receptionflat screen tvair conditioningcity centreexcellent roomplenty of hot watercomfy bedfantastic locationgood nights sleeptea and coffeecomfortable stayashmolean museumbus stoppubsstaircase
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 208 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not a hotel, even though it was not clear from the various booking websites. It is a guest accommodation, in other words, just rooms; meaning no breakfast and other hotel facilities. A small door at the entrance leads to stairs. There is no lift, so you have to carry your luggage on your own up the stairs. There is no security or reception staff around in the evening, even though you get a number that you can call in case you need something. The main entrance i.e. a street door, is locked after a certain time and you have to use your card to enter. Also there was really bad sound proofing and I could not sleep properly. I would wake up every time someone was going up/down the stairs or someone would shout on the street. The room even though quite small was cute and clean. There was a shower but no bathtub. Shampoo, shower gel etc. were provided and were of great quality. The personnel was not that warm and helpful. For "just rooms" even though in the center of oxford, it is overpriced. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marnes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Perfect central location and yes it was noisy at night but what do you expect in a central location? Hotel nice and clean and Anton very pleasant. Parking was the only issue - its a long walk to cart your bags and expensive at over £30 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was surprised at first there was just a doorway with a flight of stairs then the reception was on the first floor. Although the room was small the decor and bathroom were lovely.
Anton was pleasant and helpful.. But i do think one bottle of water between two could be improved upon..
Anybody wanting to spend a couple of nights in Oxford this is an ideal location..

Room Tip: If you stuggle with stairs this is not for you
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHORTYMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the perfect home base for exploring Oxford. It is conveniently located to all the major sights and is right above Jamie Oliver's restaurant. Gloucester Green is a short walk (less than five minutes) down the road. Clean rooms, modern furnishings, and reasonably priced. Caroleen was fantastic -- so helpful!

There are only two drawbacks and there is nothing the hotel can do about either of them: The hotel is on the second and third floors (considered first floor and second floor for Europeans) and it can get noisy at night because the hotel is so centrally located. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat, though!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I booked this hotel because I found all good located hotels in Oxford very expensive.
It was a pleasant choice!
The room is confortable, as is the bed, very clean.
Mark, the manager, was very kind and helpful.
It's a new hotel so, the furniture follows which is a very good point to me as I hate the old and dirty aspect of non cared places..
It's close to the attractions, you can get to know Oxford on foot! It's also easy to access the train station from there.
It's a small hotel though. You don't have a lobby or other facilities in it ( which for me is fine as you can take at the city everything you need then rest in your hotel room).

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marcelazabani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews