We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Hot Hot !”
Review of Sichuan Grand

Sichuan Grand
Get food delivered
Ranked #518 of 671 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 26, 2016

I come here quite often with some chinese colleagues from work. The food is authentic, tasty and in my opinion, Very spicy. Lots of chillies but very good. Im a bit of a wimp when it comes to spicy chillies but somehow cant stop eating all the delicious food. We have lots of dishes and all share on the rotating tables. Hard to choose a favourite dish.
Staff always seem friendly. can be very busy on the weekend and only have bottled beer. I expect i will be back soon.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 180 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The staff were rather rude and like can't be bothered to serve us. The food was all spicy even though we have tried to order some that's not supposed to be spicy. The waiter collected cash from us and said he has given 10% discount to us by taking off the service charge. Not sure how true this is as its our first and last visit. Didn't feel welcome at all and asking for anything in this restaurant felt like owing them the world. Would definitely not recommended.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank JenMNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Been a long time customer here. This is almost as good as you can get in Sichuan, especially rare when you think lots of the raw material can'n be sourced here in UK. Full of flavour and the chef is certainly not cooking the Western-version of Chinese food.
Always enjoy coming here. And service is always good.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Green W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

I think this is a great place to eat. If you like Chinese and SPICY food then this is for you. Menu is very different and there are some strange and wonderful things on the menu. However you cant go wrong with twice cooked pork, fried green beans, most prawn dishes and many more that would take too long in a review. My favourite is house speciality crab. There are non spicy things on the menu too BTW. I visit this place at least every 6-8 weeks and it just never disappoints me. Waiters have limited English or difficult to understand but it adds to the ambience. You will mostly see Chinese eating here and that is always a good sign in a Chinese restaurant. It never seems to be closed. Finally the bigger the group, the more rewarding the eating experience as you can try many many things. Be adventurous, you only live once.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickvindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Not your usual westernised Chinese restaurant! Indeed, rare are the non-Chinese diners.

Dinner is served quite early - indeed from around 21.30 they start shutting down ready to sit down to their own meals. The menu is exotic and the food is delicious: cumin lamb, dry-fried pigs' intestines, twice-cooked pork, sliced pork lavishly (they are not exaggerating!) topped with chilli and pepper are favourites of mine.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JustImbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sichuan Grand also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Sichuan Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.