We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun corner hangout”
Review of O'Neill's

O'Neill's
Ranked #125 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You'll always find a warm welcome at O'Neill's in Oxford. Ours is a place where you're free to go with the flow. Where great food and drink is always served with a smile. And where, no matter whether you're a regular or a newcomer, our friendly team will make you feel at home. Irish pubs are known for their hospitality - a point we love proving here at O'Neill's in Oxford. We are one of the best pubs in Oxford for Irish food, drink and atmosphere. Come and see for yourself - drop by for a bite to eat, to watch some sport, to enjoy our live music or just for the craic. Slainte!
Southern VA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun corner hangout”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I am an American visiting Oxford for a three-week study program and should admit up front that I didn't try any food here. However, I did stop by a few times for drinks and always found it to be cheerful and lively. The location is great for prime people watching and what I did see of food being served looked good.
This is a chain, so you can definitely do better for an "authentic" drinking experience but it does provide a nice stop as you are making the rounds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbugfromva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    86
    56
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
260 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beer plenty and great food...”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visited this place for lunch one of the early summer days when it was still a bit chilly. Found a great chair next to the window with sunlight streaming in. It was warm and they had a variety of beers on tap. Tried a couple of summer ales which were fantastic. Food was wonderful too and all at a real low price. Got out of here a good 3 hours later. Quite a lunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK only”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were hungry and thirsty after walking around Oxford for 2 hours and stumbled upon O'Neill's. The menu looked a bit American, but we ordered the steak. It came out looking a bit sad with greasy onion rings and fries and a piece of meat that was uneven in size to my partners, and both untrimmed fat. The onion rings and fries were too oily to eat. We also had deep-fried cheese mushrooms - they were soggy inside and barely edible - someone should tell the Chef to dry the mushrooms and make sure the oil is at the right temperature. Beer was good and service too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok place, shame about a few things”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Not too familar with the area so we decided to go for a quick drink here. Unfortunately,one of the door men when I.Ding us (even though we are over 25) was a little rude and unfriendly for no apparent reason which we thought was a little off however would like to thank the other friendly door man for pointing us right direction of home as we left. Drinks are well priced. Really nice interior but unfortunately the toilet door was left wide open and all we could smell was the toilets! Music choice in there also questionable but that's obviously down to taste! Apart from that good but wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rivsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Grub”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were going to the cinema opposite and dashed in from the rain for a quick drink prior to the show.

After the show we came back to eat as the ambience of the place was happy and buzzing.

Our first course came of breaded mushrooms and tomato relish dip and was good, hot and hearty. The main course of pie and chips was excellent too.

Staff were happy and very polite. Couldn't say fairer than this!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PearlandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Neill's also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to O'Neill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing