We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suited me perfectly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
newcastle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“suited me perfectly”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I thought this hotel was excellent. I was only there one night and not as a tourist, but I found it sparkling clean, quiet and with charming staff. A bonus was that I booked in advance and paid only £49 - a terrific bargain.

I can see that someone wishing to 'see' Oxford might find the location somewhat remote but, for my purposes, great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    299
    251
    62
    40
See reviews for
155
231
34
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I thought this 'hotel' was bizarre ... it's more a bed and breakfast and even then the breakfast is very limited. It's absolutely fine if you want somewhere to sleep outside of Oxford, the staff are responsive and it's clean. However, the location is a bit limited because it's very close to a Vue spa,cinema, leisure complex and a huge stadium which is very ugly.

The 'hotel' does not provide any food other than a continental breakfast which is fairly mediocre. The only restaurants close by are a Frankie and Bennie and an Oxy's, together with a Sports bar in the complex which is very noisy. Apparently there is a pub which offers meals nearby but we didn't find it. Fortunately, we were only staying a couple of nights visiting family in the area but if it had been part of my holiday I'd have been really disappointed.

Even the swimming pool isn't on the premises, you have to walk across to the Leisure Complex to use it and the times of use are limited unless you want to pay £5. I really think the way this 'hotel' is advertised is a complete nonsense because it's just not a hotel. However, I would say that it's very clean and the staff are very responsive. Definitely wouldn't recommend it though, I'd pay a bit more and go to a proper hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments

Regards
Chris Mason
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Beverley East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We've stayed here a few times now visiting Oxford. It's about 3 miles out of the City Centre in the Kassam (Oxford Utd) football stadium.

Comfortable hotel, quiet location, easy to get to by car, plenty of car parking on site.

Good sized rooms with coffee/tea making facilities. Beds fairly comfy. Shower unit - no bath in our room (std double).

Breakfast self serve - food fresh and essentially 'all you can eat'. Newspapers to read.

There is wireless internet - but couldnt access it for some reason from our room. So cant comment any further on this.

Probably best value in Oxford I would say - we'd have no hesitation in recommending it and we'll be back at our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctordaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Chris Mason
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Firstly, this is not strictly speaking a 'proper' Holiday Inn Express, it's a franchise operated by the same people that run the stadium next door. The only difference this seems to make in practice is that you can't check or change your bookings via the website, you have to call them. And if like me you get someone who doesn't understand you, you can have problems. Thankfully I called again before I left and found my booking was entirely wrong...

I'm puzzled as to why people are marking this hotel down because it's not close to the city centre, it is where it is! As I was attending a conference at the Kassam stadium its situation was perfect. If you want to stay in the centre of Oxford,, then book a hotel in the centre of Oxford! The hotel has free parking out the front, and is about 5-10 minutes walk from a restaurant and cinema complex.

I am a veteran of hundreds of nights stay in Travelodges and Premier Inn but it's the first time I've used HIEX. The rooms are quite small compared with most budget hotels, very narrow, more like you'd expect in a city centre rather than on the outskirts as it is here. The bathroom is of a normal size although there is no bath, only a shower. Personally I like to have a bath now and again so I wouldn't like to stay here beyond a couple of nights. It's a mystery why they decided on shower only, it's not because of space, Premier Inn have a similar sized bathroom and they manage to fit a full sized bath in as well as basin and toilet.

There is a small, but very comfortable sofa in all rooms which also folds out to make a bed, and the bed itself is a double, not the more usual king size. Fine for me as I was on my own.

Other than that the bedroom was spotlessly clean and all the fittings still looked brand new, the same as the rest of the hotel, very well presented.

I was somewhat disappointed there is no food served in the hotel in the evenings, although there is a free-phone for takeaway meals, which they will let you either take plates and cutlery up to your room, or eat in the 'restaurant' looking part of the lobby. Very strange that there is no food on offer, even some travelodges now serve food, but I guess they have their reasons.

What you do get included is breakfast, which is the usual continental offering, no hot food except toast. All perfectly acceptable, the only quibble here is the design of the breakfast bar, very cramped and getting something as simple as a slice of toast and a cup of coffee means trips to several different locations having to battle against the crowds. It's just a very poor layout, it's not as if they don't have the space, just demolish the current arrangements and have a couple of tables laid out, job done!

For some reason whenever it rained I'd hear a loud banging noise outside my rooms window, like you'd get when you drop water onto sheet metal, except really loud! It's a good job it only rained for 10 minutes during my stay otherwise I wouldn't have been able to sleep at all!

For this trip, the hotel suited my requirements exactly, but I personally wouldn't choose it for anything other than going to the Kassam stadium

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments
Kind regards
Chris Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Great budget hotel with plenty of free parking (providing Oxford FC are not playing at home as all their supporters fill the car park during the afternoon). We enjoyed a Saturday night stay as we were visiting the town for a shopping day and evening out, the room was clean and tidy, the staff very helpful and the inclusive breakfast was just the job. I was concerned by the stag and hen groups booked in but we slept well and there was no excessive noise. All in all i thought this was a good hotel but the location not central with taxis costing between £10-£12 into Oxford town it self. Hotel right next door to the football stadium and VUE cinema complex alongside with Frankie & Bennies.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolSimon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Dear guest
Thank you for your comments
Kind regards
Chris Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2009

It is not close to the city centre but it's just 10 minutes drive. Parking facilities and continental breakfast are free.
Very clean and quiet hotel. Friendly and helpful staff.
I would recommend it for a short stay, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIGUELIN_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Dear Gues

Thank you for your comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards
Chris Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
637 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I feel a bit reluctant to give this hotel 3 out of 5 because I would gladly stay here again. The reason for the low score is the fact that it is 5 miles south of Oxford and realistically you need a car to stay here. Furthermore it does not have a restaurant to serve food other than breakfast, there is no swimming pool and ther is no gym.
Despite these reservations this hotel really is excellent and will undoubtedly suit many people, if only they new about it.
On the plus side:
a) It is new and everything is well laid out, designed and it works
b) There is ample car parking which is free
c) It is extremely quiet
d) It is bright and clean
e) Breakfast is included in the room rate
f) Check in is extremely efficient
g) It offers superb value - I paid £58 for a double room booked with the hotel direct on their internet site. There were no hidden extras.
h) Getting to the hotel is easy because it is right next to the Oxford United football stadium and there are signs to it from everywhere.

This chain offers clean, functional accomodation for a good price and this particular hotel has been the best in this particular chain.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
Dear Guest
Thank you for comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Although we do not have a restaurant in the hotel there are two within 4/5 minute walk of the hotel. There is also a large leisure club (with pool, gym, etc) adjoining the restaurants, which hotel residents can use for a special rate.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,055 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing