We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It May Hurt a Bit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It May Hurt a Bit”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Visited Oxford to see the Play "It May Hurt a Bit" and stayed in Holiday Inn Express for 2 nights. Hotel located outside Oxford in a Science Park. The location is ideal, very quiet overlooking the football stadium with many parking spaces. It is fairly near Redbridge Park and Ride, although you need a car to get there, ticket for 24 hours is £2 and £4.50 return for 2 on Green Park and Ride bus. We were told to get the Red bus and the tickets were £6.60 although accepted by Green bus but we were told not the other way around. Every 10 minutes peak and 30 minutes off peak, 10 minutes to centre of Oxford, easy.
Rooms very comfortable bed very bouncy but did tend to roll into the middle, liked the fact that there was a choice of pillows which were identified as firm and soft . Shower excellent even though there we some leaks on connections and waste gurgled somewhat. Toilet had a small leak which was not an issue.
Breakfast was good with plenty of options and was always replenished, however the sausages were awful very cheap quality.
Staff very helpful.
A very enjoyable stay but let down slightly by some minor but annoying issues but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Football stadium and grass areas. Note, rooms above reception are close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you posting your comments. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    295
    250
    61
    39
See reviews for
153
231
34
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

check inn efficient & polite, room was clean & comfortable. Complained about smoke smell to reception and the offered to change room or all bedding towels etc. All linen changed immediately. Wifi service OK until evening then went slow, must have been volume of users. Included breakfast was pleasant, hot & tasty. Would use again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskynginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Took the family to Oxford as it was my daughter's birthday and we don't get to meet up all together. Booked into the Holiday Inn Express at Kassam Stadium for one night, 3 rooms. Whilst the rooms were functional and clean, the beds were very uncomfortable - our mattress dipped towards the middle. Only one pillow per person which meant I had to use folded bath towels to get a reasonable sleeping position.
The breakfast is complimentary and the bread rolls, croissant and muffins looked good. There were yoghurts, some cereals and fresh fruit but the cooked breakfast was of a poor standard.
I wish we had known about the £10 taxi fare as, although we booked our journey via the reception, we were charged £20 both ways and only saw the notice when we arrived back at the hotel!
We enjoyed visiting Oxford but I don't think I would return to the Holiday Inn Express there in a hurry,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comments. I am sorry that the bed was not comfortable we are looking to replace the beds. I was also concerned to read that you had been charged double the price in your taxi journey. Could I ask you to email me on
cmason@expressoxford.com
I would like to find out what has happened.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is situated right next door to the Kassam Stadium, taxi costs approx £10 into the city centre but make sure you quote this or you get charged the normal rate which is a few pounds more.
Room was very clean and modern although the bed was uncomfortable.
No other complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for sending in your comments, I am pleased that you were pleased overall. I would like to apologise for the bed being uncomfortable. We are planning to replace our beds.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Three of us stayed here after a day touring the Cotswolds. It is on the outskirts of Oxford, and about a mile from one of the park and rides. The room was big enough, with a double bed and a double sofa bed. There didn't appear to be any way to cool the room, but we didn't need that as it was cold enough. There was free wifi and with the free all you can eat hot breakfast, it was good value.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments. I am very pleased that you found the hotel to be good value.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there on 16 April.2014, everything was very efficient. Only moan is they wanted to pre authorise a deposit of £30 in case the room is damaged. Which is frustrating when you are on a limited budget. room was very good, food was equally impressive. The choice is broad, and no issues with second helpings. Only other issue was waiting time when trying to check out. But would certainly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank h0nestjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice, clean room and really enjoyed the breakfast of sausage, scrambled eggs and beans, cereals and fruit. Drinks were expensive. Hotel offers a £10 taxi into Oxford which takes about 10 mins but there is also a bus you can take from the adjacent estate. Next to the stadium is a cinema, bowling, Frankie & Bennys, an indian and a chinese buffet, which was very good but no other pub. We found Oxford to be expensive coming from up north (£6.60 for a pint & a half in one pub) but Wetherspoons prices were OK. Lovely college buildings but most charge to look around and, again, some quite expensive, as was the punting at £25 for 30 minutes so needless to say didn't see anyone doing that whilst we were there. Nice hotel and great location if you are an away fan for Oxford Kassam stadium because its right next door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 857louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I would also like to mention that there is a nice pub on the river Thames, about a mile from the hotel. The pub is the Kings Arms at Sandford Lock, there are also other pubs 2-3 miles from the hotel.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing