We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
591 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here on business mid-week. Plenty of parking.
Warm welcome at reception and efficient check in.
The rooms are a good size, well equipped and spotlessly clean.
Comfortable bed, and a choice of pillows which were labelled as hard and soft.
Only negative point was the towels which had seen better days, and were rather hard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    302
    253
    62
    40
See reviews for
156
232
34
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. Very friendly staff. Lovely smiles and welcome. Nice base for visiting dreaming spires. Lovely Reception area where you can relax, have a drink, read the free newspapers (the I).drinks were quite expensive but bar staff very friendly. Room lovely but bed not very comfortable. Wifi £6.00 per hour; no, thank you. Breakfast lovely. Continental and English Breakfast. Did not love the English breakfast. Croissants were beautiful. Self service but staff were very good at keeping tables cleared. Lovely environment. Will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 222 and overlooked Kassam Stadium. Generally quiet but may be noisy on match days:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your comments. I am very pleased to see that the staff were welcoming & friendly. I would just like to let you know that the wi fi price is actually £3 for 24 hours for browsing/e mails etc and £7 for 24 hours for large downloads ie watching films etc. We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived late evening to discover, unlike most other HI's of any format, they do not serve food in the evening. The hotel is on the middle of nowhere and the choice for food if you don't want to get back in the car is chain restaurant junk in the nearby leisure complex. Like many hotels in the Oxford area it is overpriced. On a positive note the hotel is fairly new and the rooms are the usual decent holiday inn standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianinlinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the location and the fact that in common with most HI Express hotels, we do not have a restaurant in the hotel. There are however three restaurants 4 minutes walk from the hotel. The restaurants are:
Frankie & Benny's
Aziz Indian & Oxy Oriental Chinese restaurants; these two restaurants offer 10% discount off food for our hotel guests.
There is also a free phone in inside the hotel and guests can use this to order food from three take away/delivery restaraunts
The Kings Arms by Sandford Lock is only 1/2 mile from the hotel and this is also a very popular family pub which serves food
We also have a taxi phone and guests can go into the City centre for £10 or the Cowley Rd for £6. There are also regular buses every 6-8 muinutes or the Park & Ride
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having previously stayed in a Holiday Inn Express, I felt I knew exactly what to expect. This hotel was very similar to the other one (having an almost identical room layout) which presents consistency across the brand. This is good.

This hotel was great as a bed for the night - the primary purpose it serves - however the walls in the room seem to be very thin, insofar that when guests were knocking on rooms across the corridor during the night, it can easily be mistaken for people knocking on your own door, which can disrupt your night's sleep (as it did in my case).

All-in-all, it was a good, short, stay. The customer service was acceptable, but the breakfast was better than I expected. Would recommend for a very short stay.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your comments about your recent stay in our hotel
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. It is pretty average however, I would not choose to stay here for leisure as there are no leisure facilities. Staff were friendly and I had no problems during my stay. My colleagues reported terrible mobile phone reception, but mine was fine. I would probably stay here again on business as the service and hotel are fine. It is a bit out of the way for the centre of Oxford (a 10-15 minute taxi ride) but very handy for the football ground which is next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your comments. I am pleased that you found that the staff were friendly. I have also noted that you feel that there are not enough leisure attractions near the hotel.
The hotel is 4 minutes walk from the Ozone Leisure building with: Aziz Indian, Frankie & Benny's, Oxy Oriental restaurants, Vue Multi-Screen Cinema, Bowl Plex and DW Leisure Club.
Hotel guests can also visit David Lloyds Leisure Club for £7.50.
The Kings Arms by Sandford Lock is also a popular local pub and is only 1/2 mile from the hotel
Taxis can be booked at reception for a fixed price of £10 into the City Centre
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here on business in late Jan. holiday Inn Express have a good formula and you know exactly what you're going to get. Room was clean and well presented. Bed was comfortable with a choice of soft or hard pillows. Bathroom was cost but very functional. I had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum down because 60 Japanese students were trying to eat at the same time as me. Food was just ok....coffee only Luke warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
331 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing