We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$461
Old Bank Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oxford Hotel(Oxford)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$96
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
104
324
273
68
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
324
273
68
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfootball stadiumhi expressfootball groundchinese buffetcinema complexhousing estatecity centrevue cinemathe breakfast areascience parkbaked beansthe busplenty of car parkingovernight stoppark and rideshort staywhat it says on the tin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 812 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. Very friendly staff. Lovely smiles and welcome. Nice base for visiting dreaming spires. Lovely Reception area where you can relax, have a drink, read the free newspapers (the I).drinks were quite expensive but bar staff very friendly. Room lovely but bed not very comfortable. Wifi £6.00 per hour; no, thank you. Breakfast lovely. Continental and English Breakfast. Did not love the English breakfast. Croissants were beautiful. Self service but staff were very good at keeping tables cleared. Lovely environment. Will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 222 and overlooked Kassam Stadium. Generally quiet but may be noisy on match days:)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your comments. I am very pleased to see that the staff were welcoming & friendly. I would just like to let you know that the wi fi price is actually £3 for 24 hours for browsing/e mails etc and £7 for 24 hours for large downloads ie watching films etc. We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived late evening to discover, unlike most other HI's of any format, they do not serve food in the evening. The hotel is on the middle of nowhere and the choice for food if you don't want to get back in the car is chain restaurant junk in the nearby leisure complex. Like many hotels in the Oxford area it is overpriced. On a positive note the hotel is fairly new and the rooms are the usual decent holiday inn standard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianinlinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the location and the fact that in common with most HI Express hotels, we do not have a restaurant in the hotel. There are however three restaurants 4 minutes walk from the hotel. The restaurants are:
Frankie & Benny's
Aziz Indian & Oxy Oriental Chinese restaurants; these two restaurants offer 10% discount off food for our hotel guests.
There is also a free phone in inside the hotel and guests can use this to order food from three take away/delivery restaraunts
The Kings Arms by Sandford Lock is only 1/2 mile from the hotel and this is also a very popular family pub which serves food
We also have a taxi phone and guests can go into the City centre for £10 or the Cowley Rd for £6. There are also regular buses every 6-8 muinutes or the Park & Ride
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having previously stayed in a Holiday Inn Express, I felt I knew exactly what to expect. This hotel was very similar to the other one (having an almost identical room layout) which presents consistency across the brand. This is good.

This hotel was great as a bed for the night - the primary purpose it serves - however the walls in the room seem to be very thin, insofar that when guests were knocking on rooms across the corridor during the night, it can easily be mistaken for people knocking on your own door, which can disrupt your night's sleep (as it did in my case).

All-in-all, it was a good, short, stay. The customer service was acceptable, but the breakfast was better than I expected. Would recommend for a very short stay.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, just in case!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your comments about your recent stay in our hotel
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. It is pretty average however, I would not choose to stay here for leisure as there are no leisure facilities. Staff were friendly and I had no problems during my stay. My colleagues reported terrible mobile phone reception, but mine was fine. I would probably stay here again on business as the service and hotel are fine. It is a bit out of the way for the centre of Oxford (a 10-15 minute taxi ride) but very handy for the football ground which is next door.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your comments. I am pleased that you found that the staff were friendly. I have also noted that you feel that there are not enough leisure attractions near the hotel.
The hotel is 4 minutes walk from the Ozone Leisure building with: Aziz Indian, Frankie & Benny's, Oxy Oriental restaurants, Vue Multi-Screen Cinema, Bowl Plex and DW Leisure Club.
Hotel guests can also visit David Lloyds Leisure Club for £7.50.
The Kings Arms by Sandford Lock is also a popular local pub and is only 1/2 mile from the hotel
Taxis can be booked at reception for a fixed price of £10 into the City Centre
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here on business in late Jan. holiday Inn Express have a good formula and you know exactly what you're going to get. Room was clean and well presented. Bed was comfortable with a choice of soft or hard pillows. Bathroom was cost but very functional. I had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum down because 60 Japanese students were trying to eat at the same time as me. Food was just ok....coffee only Luke warm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews