We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This brand would not have been my first choice, particularly as I could have got a 'proper' Holiday Inn for £10 more, but stayed here due to location. Holiday Inn Express seems to pitch itself midway between the Novotels, Holiday inns, Jury Inn at one end and the Travelodges /Premier Lodge at the other. Part of the problem being that the better quality hotels can often be found at discount prices and then this brand seems very expensive for what it is. Lovely room, big room with double bed and also a sofa bed - bed a bit hard but choice of pillows - good bathroom but would have preferred a bath to a shower (not an option with this hotel) Very clean and well presented hotel.
Breakfast horrible! Many people have commented on the horrible scrambled egg - wouldn't the obvious thing be to address the problem and provide better quality food! Rest of breakfast poor, rubber sausages, cheap beans and sliced break to toast - cake and croissants dry and tasteless cake. ............ But there was a breakfast! Many hotels don't include breakfast in rate, so is better to have a horrible breakfast than no breakfast?
Overall distinctly average - but I don't think it pretends to be anything other that, so does its job well.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 790 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

The warm reception we received was typical of Holiday Inn, our room for one night was comfortable, we were late booking and arriving but our room was extremely comfortable and clean, bathroom spotless and included toiletries but not in sample bottles! The hotel is ideally placed away from the centre but public transport is good, there are "local" eateries for tired travellers as we were, which deliver to the hotel.
Breakfast however was a disappointment, we weren't late in going but what was on offer as hot food was a choice of sausages, beans and very poor quality scrambled eggs, no bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes etc, Continental offerings were pastries and or croissons and tea/coffee etc - hope this was a one off?

Room Tip: Alk are equally good or so it appears
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Used this Hotel for the last 5 - 6 years. It has gone down in the value for money stakes. Gone from last year around £50 to in excess of £80. With friends using hotel as a base when in Oxford we had around 50 nights a year.

Not a clean as it was the staff not as polite and friendly.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments. I am sorry to read that you are disappointed with our room rates & are looking for alternative hotels in Oxford. The Hotels in Oxford are very competitive and we try to offer the best value for money rates that we can
Best regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after a shopping trip to
Bicester village, my room was nicely decorated but bathroom let it down, forgot some of my toiletries and none in room was given a toothbrush & paste for free by reception though, but you normally get shampoos etc in room - but it was bare. No bath either. All our rooms 6 in total were freezing even with rad on full. I had to get up in night and put socks on as couldn't sleep as so cold!

Drinks were expensive in the bar

A few drunks in bar at about 11pm one even threw a pint glass narrowly missing a baby in a car seat

Breakfast was awful I couldn't eat it, eggs were those awful plastic processed ones, the sausages looked nice but were not and the beans made Tesco value beans seem appealing! It was so bad I left it and went and got a croissant instead.

I would not return here or recommend it. There are nicer hotels in the area like 4 pillars Thames

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dera Guest

Thank you for posting your comments. I was very disturbed to read your comment about a drunk guest throwing a beer glass in the direction of a baby. This is very serious. Guests who are drunk should not be served and people who are violent or have no regard for others would be asked to leave the hotel.
I have also noted that you were disappointed with the breakfast choice. These comments will be taken into account when the Directors review our complimentary breakfast selection
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Location OK if you have a car, which we did. Cleanliness good and room size good but so many negatives it outweighs the positives. Beds are hardest I have slept on, so an uncomfortable two nights but I appreciate this is a personal choice re firmness. Was waken at 2 in the morning by screaming, shouting and banging of people arriving back to their room next to ours. (I know this happens and not hotels fault but a negative non the less) They were then awake early and almost as noisy. Informed reception I wanted to move rooms if the people next door were staying a second night, who said I should have rung them but noise stopped after about 5 minutes. breakfast was a shambles, no where to sit as not enough seats, tables full of dirty pots. same poor choice each morning on self service counter-horrible scrambled eggs and beans (could have had sausage but did not look appealing) toast was eather warm bread or charred if put through toaster twice. Not enough room in counter area to accommodate guests. Health and safety issue here me thinks, hot drinks, crowded area, small children??? Only point in favour was the Yoghurt in pots which were delicious. Oh and the coffee was good!
No food on the evening and if you ordered a take away it had to be eaten in the area we sat and had breakfast which was even less cheerful on the evening.
I wouldn't stay again. It was busy, noisy and very poor value for money. £95 for one of the nights, will look elsewhere when next in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plushdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay. We are very concerned to hear that guests are woken up by other guests during the night. our night staff patrol the corridors to check that everything is in order.
There are three restaurants (Aziz Indian, Frankie & Benny's & Oxy Oriental) within four minutes walk from the hotel. As you mention there is also a free phone by the take away menu board. We have a delivery service supplied by: Chinese, Indian & Pizza delivery restaurants.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our first time here stayed a friday and saturday and used our points.Our room was clean and tidy breakfast was okay, hotel was very busy it being the weekend and carpark at the front was nearly full when we arrived back late on saturday night,so parked to the side of the hotel which was fine.We got the train to london from Thame which is only 20 minutes drive away and had a great day out, Would stay here again without a doubt

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oggyoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending us your comments. I am very pleased to read that you would be staying with us again.

Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I hadn't stayed in very many Holiday Inn Express places before and I don't think I'll be doing it again. Firstly the good bits. The room was spacious, clean, fully equipped and perfectly pleasant in that bland Holiday Inn type way. The staff were helpful and check in was fine; the hotel is quite easy to find being right next to Oxford United's Kassam Statium (surprisingly impressive stadium). Now the bad bits. Breakfast - the only meal the hotel serve - was inedible. I don't know what the scrambled eggs were made from but it wasn't eggs. The location is quite far out of Oxford and in a quite dodgy area; if you want an evening meal you need to walk round the Kassam stadium to the cinema complex about quarter of a mile away. In the dark and on your own it's maybe not completely ideal; probably OK in the summer. You need a car at this hotel, basically. I get that Holiday Inn Express is very much a 'no frills' experience but this is missing quite a bit more than frills. It gets a 2 rating because it isn't trying to pretend to be something it isn't but this takes 'no frills' to a whole new level.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandbagGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you did not like the scrambled eggs they are definitely made with real egg.
I would dispute the descripition of the location as a dodgy area. The hotel is next to the Kassam Stadium (home of Oxford United & London Welsh) and Oxford Science Park. On the other side we have Greater Leys; and green fields on the other side of the road.
We don't have a restaurant because there are three restaurants four minutes walk from the hotel. We also have free phone connected to three take-away/delivery restaurants. Many guests prefer to take advantage of the fixed rate taxi charge of £10 and visit the centre of Oxford. There are also regular buses which go to the city centre which run until 0230 hours.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
644 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#8 of 44 in Oxford
636 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
15.2 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#24 of 44 in Oxford
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: $81 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing