We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“University hunting”
Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“University hunting”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were visiting Oxford for our daughter to attend the open day of the university, found it really easy and were not disappointed on arrival - we booked a premium room and was not disappointed - it had everything we needed.
The staff were really welcoming and the evening meal was outstanding really good service
The only disappointment was we had 1 towel in the room when there was 3 of us staying there but that is just a comment not a complaint
If we were to visit Oxford again I would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending to our friends

Room Tip: We had a premium twin room - worth paying a bit extra for as there was not much difference in price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jools1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    87
    59
    21
    24
See reviews for
73
131
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My mom, my sister and I stayed there for one night in the frame of our shopping trip. As soon as we arrived, we felt the stay would be amazing: beautiful venue, great welcoming and helpful staff. The room was flawless and the view on the garden speechless. The equipment in the room is very modern. We had lunch in the restaurant and dinner in the room: the food was sooooo good!! We were not expecting that.
Definitely a very good value for money.
We will definitely go back to the Westwood hotel if we have the occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaliBharati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

not all that easy to find but worth it. Quiet location, welcoming reception, large nicely furnished room, very good bed, adequate to good bathroom, adequate amenities, towels fine, free parking, 10 min into Oxford centre (car), surprisingly non-attended dining room, a few more people at breakfast. Overall well worth a stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank trip789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was here for a wedding in mid-June 2014, so I probably don't have a good impression of what the hotel would be like for "normal" guests, but I was impressed with what I saw.

The old, country house building is beautiful, and the extensive gardens are perfect to enjoy when staying in the summer months. It's a bit out of town, but as we are Oxford residents anyway this didn't matter to us (in fact, it was probably an advantage if anything).

The room was reasonably well appointed, perhaps not the most spacious room I've ever stayed in, and had a nice view out onto the garden.

The food we had during the wedding was excellent, and the breakfast was pretty good, although there wasn't a huge amount of choice. It also seemed a bit "canteen style" - you could certainly eat your fill, being an all you can eat buffet, but it wasn't really a gourmet breakfast, and not quite in keeping with the more luxurious surroundings of the hotel.

Staff were great - friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Overall, Westwood hotel is a very good option for those wanting to enjoy the Oxfordshire countryside. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Reasonable location, a short taxi ride from Oxford center. Very nice room with access to very nice garden. Staff made no impression, good or bad. Completely satisfied with stay, but did not eat or drink there.

Room Tip: We had a familt room for 3 adults and one 15 year old. It was very suitable. We enjoyed access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights and it was the best place to recover from jet lag after 20-hours trip from Bangkok. Sipping coffee seating in hot bath, and wake up with bird songs, listen top music charts unpacking packing luggage. Deluxe room is spacious with seating area and windows overlooking hotel ground and forest. Well, the only you expect is to get breakfast included in £155 per night since there are no any facilities except little but charming restaurant... What you need to keep in mind is it's £10 one way by taxi from the city, or coaches available every hour and the bus stop just steps away from hotel, however it's easy to miss your bus (I came exactly on scheduler but it's already left).

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vasily_Pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

last saturday I attended a wedding here, and it was such a lovely setting, the bridal party had booked all the rooms so the hotel was for wedding guests only. we had about 40 children and they were well catered for, the grounds were great for them to run around and play, I highly recommend this to anyone thinking of holding a wedding reception in Oxford. The manager Drew was most accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for him. The room looked fantastic on the day, and there were so many rooms we could use to sit and chat, but the weather was perfect so many sat outside in the well lit gardens. The food was great too, I am a vegetarian and really enjoyed my meal.

Room Tip: If you are older and attending a wedding reception with music, choose a room at the side or the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheYoungOnes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.7 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
4.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Property: The Westwood Hotel
Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing