We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The room was nice and staff was friendly. The taxi is quiet cheap and the area is really nice and peaceful!
Our room was really clean,recently renovated and comfortable, the food was really great!
The bathroom was huge and perfect.

Nice weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    87
    58
    21
    24
See reviews for
71
131
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I and adult daughter stopped here on our return from Devon for one night on the way to Heathrow. Great location, well-kept grounds, nice rooms and friendly staff - all for a reasonable price. Is outside of Oxford and part of the road is closed for construction, but it worked well for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to when we departed. They had good advice for places to eat and things to do and how best to get there (drive and pay to park or use a taxi and save if you are out for most of the day). Taxi cost around #7 pounds to city center. Breakfast was exceptional. The little touches: coffee and tea pots at your table, refreshed foods, attentive service.The rooms were freshly painted and evidence of recent maintenance. TV channels and internet ok. Floors are creaky and doors bang (but so do most hotels :) Well maintained gardens and views.

Clean, respectful, good value, great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gra999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place! Cosy, comfortable, friendly staff, great service and very nice food. Would definitely go back. Gardens beautiful, very quiet location, had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was excellent with fresh eggs from the hotels chickens!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbyclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked into this hotel for 2 nights with my sisters which was close by to my Mum who was residing in a Hospice just up the road. We never actually stayed the nights we booked in the end as we stayed on our Mum's bedroom floor to be near her in her final hours, but I will say that whilst we were staggering trips to and fro from Mum and getting breaths of fresh air between us, and sitting on the balcony over looking the gardens in our room, it was beautiful and as there was a wedding on, such a buzz. The place smells freshly painted and brand new and the staff wonderful, very good service. Such a shame our stay was so bittersweet but I would highly recommend this hotel. Our only down point would be that there are no candles or out lights on the balcony which was a little frustrating.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony, but ask for a latern or candle if you're staying in summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebbidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewIreson, General Manager at The Westwood Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and sorry that your stay with us was not for better reasons.

Great feedback about lights on the balconies, I have ordered some this week.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again.

Best regards

Drew Ireson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have stayed at the Westwood twice in the last 9 months for weddings and have been impressed each time.

Rooms are a decent size with lovely comfortable beds. Amazing grounds and lovely food.

My only gripe, albeit a small one, would be breakfast. Both times we have gone donw for breakfast 30mins before it closes and the choice is limited. If breakfast is served until a certain time then there should be all the food until that time. Seems that if you want a good choice then get down early!
There seems to be a shortage of staff at this time so the dining room looks a bit messy and it seems to take the staff a long time to clear finished plates.

A minor gripe for an otherwise great place.

Room Tip: Get a room above Reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewIreson, General Manager at The Westwood Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, comments from our guest are so important to us for the improvement of the hotel.

I was so to hear about your breakfast experience. We only have breakfast buffet for wedding groups, for the other time the breakfast is cooked to order. I will speak with the staff and the kitchen to ensure that we keep the buffet topped up or that towards the end of service we cook to order, after a great night partying at a wedding I understand the need for a later breakfast.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you back for a third time.

Best regards

Drew Ireson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived at the very splendid Westwood Hotel on the morning of our booking and were made very welcome immediately. We checked in with ease, even though we had arrived quite early and were welcomed by a helpful receptionist who printed off a variety of Oxford related maps for us. The room had picturesque views of a stunning country gardens and was a good size for a couple. The en-suite facilities included an amazing power shower too.
After a day around Oxford we decided to eat at the hotel. The food was very good and they had an extensive menu. All was reasonably priced. We had a really enjoyable evening in the bar area.
The only negative for this hotel is that you have to drive to get into Oxford city centre. It's very easy as the park and ride is only a couple of minutes away but had we known this we probably would have booked somewhere more central. If you want the city close by and a bit of quiet at the same time then this place is perfect for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joneson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.7 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
4.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Property: The Westwood Hotel
Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing