We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bear and Ragged Staff
Ranked #9 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Place”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend at the end of January 2013 to attend a family party which was being held in the restaurant on the Sunday. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff and our room (number 4) was spotlessly clean, very cozy and charming and had the best selection of Twinnings tea we have ever been provided with!

The food in the restaurant was delicious and the restaurant staff did a superb job on the day of the party catering to over 30 of us. The cooked full English was probably the best I have ever eaten and well worth flying back from the Cayman Islands for.

Would not hesitate in recommending this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    76
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
55
187
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a real treat to visit,situated 15mins from the park and ride on the west side of Oxford; the grade 2 listed property boasts a brilliant restaurant with some great rooms, . We stayed in room 9, classed as a luxury double. The room was a 'cosy' size but had plenty of character, beams, flat screen TV, radio and multi positioned speakers. A great room, bathroom was huge with free standing bath and rainforest shower, tv in the bathroom too! The room had plenty of attention to detail touches such as fresh milk, home made flapjacks, local superfoods and a great selection of teas. Comfortable and very relaxing.

The pub downstairs has some log fire rooms next to a more 'restaurant' feel areas. For food we were able to create our own sharing platter from a large selection to make up our first course. We had ham hock terrine, smoked mackerel pate, smoked salmon and hummus. For main my girlfriend had liver and I had lamb served with a range of accompaniments. Some great dessert choices too with delicious sorbet and a great take on a honeycomb cheesecake.

Breakfast the next morning had a large continental selection of lovely fresh fruit (which was fantastic), cereals, pastries etc with some good choices for hot breakfast. A tasty and well portioned full English breakfast finished me off. The staff were all excellent and very attentive at both dinner and breakfast.

I would definitely go back and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Oxford area.

Room Tip: Room 9 - Fantastic, large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Pyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at The Bear & Ragged Staff last November (6.11.2012) staying overnight and enjoying a meal in the restaurant.

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed, made to feel comfortable and at ease.

The room, which was spacious, beautifully equipped and furnished, facilities - parking was plentiful, restaurant was superb and location (20 mins out of Oxford) were all fantastic and without fault, all members of staff we encountered were polite and friendly and a credit to the Inn.

Congratulations, I originally come from a background of running a 50 bed hotel in Kent and know how hard it is to please everyone so it was lovely to have such a nice time on this special occasion.

Room Tip: We had an end room in what I assume was originally a barn, there are 4 rooms (although I believe a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night and it was a Devine experience, as a business traveller I stay in many hotels and this one stands out. This is a lovely old pub in a really quite area but very accessible for doing business in Oxford. The staff were welcoming and friendly and I knew it was going to be good as I was shown up a rickety very old wooden staircase to my room at the top. It was a deluxe double and the bathroom was even bigger than the bedroom with a freestanding bath and awesome shower. All the old beams are exposed and you need to duck a lot but its charming and not annoying. The rooms were immaculate, extraordinarily clean with lovely thick warm carpet and a splendid bed. Flat screen TCs were in the bedroom and the bathroom although its better to be downstairs eating their excellent food and drinking their excellent beer! I will be returning here on every trip I make to Oxford.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demig_AIUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great location within 20 mins drive of town. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was very comfortable clean and well appointed.
Food very good and selection of drinks with excellent dessert wines, continental beers and a few ales.
A grand breakfast with local produce saw us on our way.
Good lighting and a cosy atmosphere.
A full car park demonstrates how deservedly popular this is.

I'm giving the scoring as four not five. Reasons:-
Unfinished decor with a multiplicity of different screws holding up fittings. Detracted from the otherwise rustic appeal.
A pint of beer that was off but was changed without any issue.
Low door headroom. My fault for being 6'1". And the main house stair was difficult to negotiate with bags. It's an original feature so it's to be expected.

Losing a point doesn't mean we didn't love it.
Well done.
C

Room Tip: Room six. Lovely bed. Pillows too soft for me. Fab carpet. Double shower. Loo a bit too close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A beautiful BandB near Oxford.
The room was very comfortable and really pleasant. Very good breakfast.
The staff was always helpful and kind.
To eat at the restaurant was a Gourmet experience!
Big parking and fast Internet.
It was and excellent stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virprieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My colleague and I had the pleasure of a night's stay at the Bear and Ragged Staff this week. We received a very warm welcome and were shown to fantastic rooms in the main house. Although above the bar, we couldn't hear anything from the rooms. The attention to detail in the design and fittings in the room is excellent with nice touches such as home made cookies and a healthy snack. The breakfast was fabulous and freshly cooked to order. Such a welcome change from the usual chain hotels. I look forward to working in the Oxford again soon so that I can stay at the Bear and Ragged Staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesT0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
692 reviews
4.6 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear and Ragged Staff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear and Ragged Staff

Property: Bear and Ragged Staff
Address: 28 Appleton Road | Cumnor, Oxford OX2 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bear and Ragged Staff 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only does the Bear and Ragged Staff serve fantastic food throughout the day, its conversion to a Country Inn is complete with the opening in December 2012 of the last five of nine rooms. The Bear is now in a position to offer a full suite of services to the discerning traveler whether on business or just looking for a home away from home for a few days.Our food ethos can be summed up very simply, local where possible, absolutely fresh, prepared in our own kitchen. The Bear's food offering can best be described as eclectic, mainly British food, prepared with loving care and attention in well equipped kitchens, beautifully presented and served by well trained floor staff. And all this with a wine list carefully selected for quality and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bear and Ragged Staff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing