We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying at The Bear and Ragged Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bear and Ragged Staff
Ranked #11 of 83 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Staying at The Bear and Ragged Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We wanted a hotel local to Oxford and Bletchley Park for a two day break during Jan 4/5 2013. We searched booking.com and decided not to go with the larger cheaper hotel chains. We looked at the Bear and Ragged Staff site and saw they were quoting cheaper than booking.com, so went to the hotel direct.
The hotel is in a little village called Cumnor anout 15 mins from Oxford. The main hotel/pub is 15th century and serves a range of local beers. The resturant is nicely set out the back of the pub and the food is tasy and well-presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to provide us with soya milk, both in our room and at breakfast.
The room we stayed in was in an annex to the main pub and was very modern and tastefully decorated. A range of teas, coffee and snacks were provided in the room. There is ample safe, off road parking. The situation means it is very quiet and peaceful. Only criticism I can think of is that I asked (when I booked) whether they could provide vegan food but no-one got back to me - next time I would ring.

Room Tip: Ask to go in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    70
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
52
182
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

If like us, you prefer something a bit different from chain hotels, we can recommend this inn. Room was pleasant and very comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful as well. There are four rooms externally accessed from the main building, although as they are at first floor level the steps to the rooms may not be suitable for the very infirm.

Only stayed one night, but both dinner and breakfast were good. The location is handy for one of the 'park and rides' into the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChorleyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to stay at this beautiful Oxford Inn as our annual Christmas treat. We have travelled extensively through the world and know the value of good service and how having the right ambiance and product is key to a great customer experience.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. Mark, Paul and the team explained how our Christmas day would be and showed us to the beautiful new suite above the pub. Everything was simply wonderful in our room. However was involved in the interior design knows their stuff as the furnishings, bed and linen were beautiful.

Our Christmas day meal more than exceeded our expectations and the wine list was wonderful to look through with a great mix of old and new world without the usual overpricing you often get in some other Cotswolds hotels.

I would say The Bear and Ragged Staff offers quite possibly the best value in Oxfordshire for food, wine, room rates and offers superb service where nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinthewineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel overnight last Sunday (16th December 2012), it was absolutely lovely. The staff were excellent and the room was exceptional - very clean with lots of extra's - bottles of water, oxford brain food!, small fridge with milk and homemade biscuits! We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal - the food was lovely. We also had breakfast in the morning which was also of a very high standard. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Friendly staff, excellent service, great rooms. Loved it!!

The owner showed us to our room - great sense of humour and made us feel immediately at home. (He's very proud of the remote controlled velux blind!!)

The rooms are exceptional, clean, tidy had have everything you could possibly need - the bed was very comfortable.

The premises is situated in a quiet, pretty village, but you can be at the park and ride in @ 10mins - so very convenient for Oxford.

It has a great restaurant for the evening and breakfast's are exceptional - all fresh, local, good quality produce.

We shall return!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcmrj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoeselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife booked a room at the Bear and Ragged Staff since it was only a few kilometres from downtown Oxford, but none of the hassle of lodging in the centre of a city.

The Bear and Ragged Staff is located far enough from the A420, in a small, quite town called Cumnor. There is ample parking around the back, where you have direct access to the pub and dining area. We received a friendly welcome and were guided to one of the rooms available under the roof since 2011.

The room was warm and cosy, and styled within the environment, but with all modern luxuries. The bed was nice and soft, and we had a wonderful night's sleep. Wireless internet was available all around the premises, and multiple Euro adapters to UK plugs were available in the room so we could easily charge and plug in whatever we'd like.

In the morning, we enjoyed a delicious full breakfast before heading off after a too short stay at this wonderful place. Would visit again!

Room Tip: 4 wonderful rooms, but be mindful they are only reachable by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is what you hope for when you book that individually owned hotel. The room was stylish and modern, the restaurant and bar comfortable and inviting, the food was good and the staff attentive and friendly. The lady who served us in the evening was especially good. We travelled with our 14 year old son and Mark arranged for a 'camp' bed in the room - perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
4.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.7 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear and Ragged Staff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear and Ragged Staff

Property: Bear and Ragged Staff
Address: 28 Appleton Road | Cumnor, Oxford OX2 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bear and Ragged Staff 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only does the Bear and Ragged Staff serve fantastic food throughout the day, its conversion to a Country Inn is complete with the opening in December 2012 of the last five of nine rooms. The Bear is now in a position to offer a full suite of services to the discerning traveler whether on business or just looking for a home away from home for a few days.Our food ethos can be summed up very simply, local where possible, absolutely fresh, prepared in our own kitchen. The Bear's food offering can best be described as eclectic, mainly British food, prepared with loving care and attention in well equipped kitchens, beautifully presented and served by well trained floor staff. And all this with a wine list carefully selected for quality and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bear and Ragged Staff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing