We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYE 2013”

Oxford Blue Smokehouse
Ranked #147 of 691 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic American Smokehouse serving homemade burgers, tender steaks and a wide range of meat smoked from 12 - 24 hours. With a fully stocked bar, a variety of cocktails, a fridge full of American bottled beers and even more ales, lagers and ciders on tap, along with many more mocktails, milkshakes and massive challenges; there's nowhere better to release your inner carnivore. Herbivores however, are also both welcome and well catered to, with Chef's Specials, burgers and the best Mac & Cheese in Oxford.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Along with a large group of friends (around 30), I saw in 2013 in the Oxford Blue. The Oxford Blue staff worked hard to ensure that this was a memorable evening for everyone. The set menu was delicious and amazing value (no hyped up New Years Eve prices here) and the staff on the night were very attentive.

All in all, one of the best New Year Eves I've had - Thanks guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeOmissi, Manager at Oxford Blue Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

We're so glad we helped see in your new year in style, thank you for your compliments. I know our staff did work hard to make the night special and it's great to hear it paid off! Hope the rest of 2013 goes just as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 290 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went to this venue on a Tuesday the Ups were that the food was really good the staff were very friendly the Downs were the tables were a bit of a miss match and weren't laid with tablecloth.cutlery or glasses, as this was a pub we would have preferred to have had a separate dining area as there was a large number of people near us who were talking rather loudly and weren't dining, we had a job to talk to each other

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mo_jones41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeOmissi, Manager at Oxford Blue Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Hi there, thank you for your compliments on our food and service- these are two of the most important elements for us so it's good to hear we're getting that right!
Sorry to hear you were unsure about our selection of furniture, and that you were next to some of our more noisy guests- we are keen to remain a place where people feel they can come in just for a drink and not feel less valued, this is the reason we keep our tables clear and don't have a specific dining area. That said, if you book a table in advance we will always try to ensure it's laid up with cutlery and glasses before you arrive, and we will do our best to seat you somewhere quiet if we can! Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice menu with some different dishes. I had calamari followed by chicken with a red pepper sauce and my husband had a pear, blue cheese and endive starter followed by an Asian steak with a ginger and spring onion sauce. All really well cooked and delicious. A great little pub/bistro. Some nice affordable wines. Tempted to post 5 stars but they did seem a bit keen to serve us sharpish, marking it pretty obvious that the kitchen wanted to close. It was only just after 8:30. There were also only 3 or 4 other parties dining which is a shame given the great food. Nice atmosphere too with music at the right volume, so you couldn't hear all the other customers but not too loud so we could chat amongst ourselves.

Thank LincJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeOmissi, Manager at Oxford Blue Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback- the steak and chicken are both very popular and always a hit! Sorry the staff seemed a bit keen- our kitchen very rarely shuts before 10 and if they were closing early for any reason you ought to have been informed, perhaps they were just a little over zealous!
January is always a quiet month but in the last couple of weeks we've just been getting busier and busier so hopefully next time you visit it will be a bit more bustling! Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I went in November, on the recommendation of a friend. The pub is slightly hidden away between Iffley and Cowley Road but we were told it was worth the detour. First impressions were great - the decor is really original with old cinema seats and a giant moose's head on the wall. However, we arrived shortly before 8pm and the pub was empty, not just quiet, but completely empty and it remained pretty much like this the whole evening which, despite the music playing loudly (too loudly for a conversation in a restaurant) meant there was zero atmosphere - it was just really weird. As for the food - I was interested to read the other recent review about the burgers - both of us had them - and, as with the previous reviewer, the burger was cold and dry and the 'triple cooked' chips were terrible - literally raw on the inside and not at all crispy on the outside. The barman was friendly and attentive (but then we were his only customers) which was a positive (and saves it from a 1 star). The friend who made the recommendation in the first place has since had disappointing experiences there so perhaps there is a change of management?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeOmissi, Manager at Oxford Blue Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Oh dear it sounds like you caught us on a bad night- there hasn't been a change in management but we are coming out of a bit of a quiet period and it can definitely be a bit difficult to whip up any atmosphere in an empty pub. I can assure you we are getting busier by the day at the moment so hopefully next time around it will be a bit more lively.
I've spoken again with the chef about the chips- mostly we get really positive feedback about them so when we hear something negative we do our utmost to address the issue. I know we've recently changed the potatoes we were using so hopefully such a disappointing experience won't happen again.
On the plus side, I'm glad you found our staff friendly and attentive, it's important to us to be positive, flexible and helpful at all times. Thank you for taking the time to review The Oxford Blue, we do hope you will return and give us another chance to impress you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having read the tripadvisor reviews, we arrived expecting a cosy, quirky pub with good food - WRONG! We were the only people there. The waiter looked as if he had just been dragged out of bed and told to be a waiter for a few hours - his white(?) shirt was grubby and crumpled and he wore a filthy apron over his baggy jeans. We ordered 2 mineral waters, but ,no, they don't sell those. They produced a menu that was similar to the one on the website but with all trace of fresh ingredients (wild mushrooms etc) removed. It resembled more a list of things they had left in the freezer than a menu. The food was OK but hugely overpriced and we left with the feeling we had been the last people to visit, eating up the leftovers before the bulldozers moved in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeOmissi, Manager at Oxford Blue Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review The Oxford Blue, I'm really sorry you had such a thoroughly uninspiring experience. It sounds as if you may have visited while our building work was going on.
We have recently refurbished our kitchen which involved much upheaval as you can imagine and did, unfortunately, involve running a somewhat reduced menu for a few days while storage and preparation of certain items was impossible. This definitely ought to have been explained to you on arrival and I can only apologise for the disappointment caused. As for the mineral water- we do sell both still and sparkling varieties, in large and small sizes- we must have been out of stock and I hope you at least received an apology and were offered an alternative.
Regarding the scruffy staff member; we are currently discussing changing our dress code/uniform and generally improving our presentation, as we know this is very important when it comes to first impressions.
We hope you will give us another chance- I can confidently say we are capable giving of so much more than you received last time and would love a chance to redeem ourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Blue Smokehouse also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Oxford Blue Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing