We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY big portions but not very nice food; friendly but confused staff”
Review of Koi - CLOSED

Koi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“VERY big portions but not very nice food; friendly but confused staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

food was very average, and although the menu was very long, the options were not that appealing. Rice came in massive portions, so one bowl is actually enough for 2 people.
The food tasted no better than your average Chinese take-away, and this was a disappointment considering Oxford has quite good Chinese restaurants in the form of Opium Den and Paddy fields (and from what I have heard, Sojo).
The staff were quite friendly, but one of the waiters kept a count on one of the party's wine glass orders, which was a bit embarrassing, saying things like "ooh, three wines already!".
Upon a query about the contents of the sesame prawn toast, waiter kept assuring us that it only had prawn... However, 10 minutes later, the waiter came back, saying he had been wrong. It was good that he was honest and admitted his mistake, but perhaps he should have been more knowledgeable in the first place, considering that a lot of customers have special dietary requirements, and sesame prawn toast is a popular starter.
We had asked from the outset to have separate bills, and they said yes. However, when the bill came, it was all together, including "drinks" as the total cost, not specifying how much each drink (we all had different drinks, and different quantities) had cost.
some costs: 3.50 per spring roll starter (two quite big spring rolls with a very bland uninteresting sauce); plain rice, 2.30 pounds, egg fried rice, 2.50 pounds, main courses from 7-12 pounds, average I guess 8-9 pounds.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went to Koi this evening.... Only one there, but it was 6.30pm. Got the Early Bird Special Menu, great Value £12.80 For Starter, Main Course with Rice and a Glass of wine, beer or Mineral.
Satay Chicken starter wa tasty and well presented, Main of Beef with black bean sauce was one of the best I have had, and the chinese Beer went well with it...Pleasent staff made it a nice visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty, friendly - excellent”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Discovered this lovely little restaurant after a stroll looking for a late dinner.

The staff were pleasant, accommodating and friendly and the food was plentiful, tasty and reasonably priced. We had the Oolong set meal for two, which was more than enough and scrumptious.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotAtWorkToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We almost missed this restaurant but so glad that we didn't. The food is excellent and the portions are plentiful but at the same time the prices are very reasonable. Chopsticks are on the table but if like me you wouldn't be able to use them - cutlery is supplied! Give it a try.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ThistleTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is my second meal at this restaurant and this visit was as memorable as the first. This was the first time for my friend and he too had nothing but praise for this restaurant. The staff were attentive and took their time to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was exceptional and delivered on time and hot. On this occasion we both decided to try new dishes; the chicken with basil and the chicken with coconut. Both dishes were superb! Reasonably priced considering the quality of the food and service, I would absolutely recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micheala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford
 
Stanton Saint John, Oxford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing