We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most uncomfortable seats ever!”
Review of Oxford New Theatre

Oxford New Theatre
Ranked #35 of 177 things to do in Oxford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The New Theatre welcomes touring musicals, opera, ballet and family shows along with top-name concerts and comedy events throughout the year. The theatre is part of the Ambassador Theatre Group.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most uncomfortable seats ever!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to watch 'Buddy' with a friend who is 6'6" tall. We had seats in the circle (which were bought for us as a present) and he had to sit with his knees under his chin throughout the show. Even an end seat was no better as the seating was staggered. I'm 5'6" and rather wide so found the seats far too narrow and I was very uncomfortable. I notice that the building was first built in the 1830's and wonder if these are the same seats which were installed back then for shorter, slimmer audiences. Needless to say the show was good and I would recommend the ice-cream!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Delmere C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue E, Public Relations Manager at Oxford New Theatre, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi Delmere C. Thanks for your review, and the great feedback for Buddy (and the ice cream!).

The current theatre was built in 1933, and although we have made improvements to the seating in recent years (including refurbishment of the upholstery and increases in legroom in some areas), to increase the legroom throughout the venue would mean that we would have to remove several rows of seats. This would reduce our capacity, meaning that we may not be able to host some of the larger shows and events that currently play at the venue.

For your next visit, if you are able to come into Oxford in person to book, the Box Office will be able to advise you which seats would be most comfortable (for example, Row J in the stalls has additional legroom). If you book online, we also have pop-up messages flagging seats that are considered to have less, or greater, legroom based on audience feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    104
    65
    29
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brackley
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Show at the New Theatre Oxford”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Enjoyed an amazing show at the New Theatre in Oxford, the Buddy Holly Story,now in its 25th year. The whole of the cast were suberb!! Having visited this venue before, we knew that being an old building it did not have air conditioning,and as we were going to a matinee performance on a hot July afternoon, we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was not as uncomfortable as we had expected. Well done to the Theatre staff for managing to keep the venue as cool as possible!! A wonderful show with good music provided by talented musicians.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 12kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue E, Public Relations Manager at Oxford New Theatre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We're really glad that you had a good time at the theatre, and that you enjoyed the show. If you would like to hear more Buddy Holly, we have a concert coming up on Sat 6 December - Buddy Holly & The Cricketers: Holly at Christmas - which you might enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“tonights the night”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Went with couple of friends to see "Tonights the Night". 1st half very disappointing needs one or two well known songs slotted in. Couple near us left at mid interval break. Shame because 2nd half was fantastic!!! "Stoner" stole the show. Well done to all

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue E, Public Relations Manager at Oxford New Theatre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. The character of Stoner was hugely popular, with a number of people highlighting his performance. Hope to see you at the New Theatre again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WHERE IS THE AIR CONDITIONING??!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were really looking forward to seeing Lee Evans on the 15th July Work in Progress tour. The Theatre was packed and atmosphere superb pre show.
The weather was very warm, but we were struck on our arrival by the fact that the whole theatre had absolutley no air conditioning, very few if any windows that could open, and even before the show started, the whole audience around us in the circle were looking very uncomfortable, and wafting paper in front of their faces to attempt to cool down.
This got far worse by the interval, and resulted in 100's of people leaving to cool down in the street outside.
The second half was intolerable and there were empty seats near to us where people had not come back, and this was definitely not for Lee Evans, who was amazing.
I heard other members of the audience say how bad it was and quite frankly we are disgusted that in the height of the summer a modern theatre should be so poorly run and uncomfortable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank WELSHHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue E, Public Relations Manager at Oxford New Theatre, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry that you had an uncomfortable experience at the Lee Evans event. As an old building we do have a number of limitations, and air conditioning is one of them. We do have an Air Cooling system, which was switched on from 10am on the days of both Lee Evans performances in order to cool the theatre as much as possible in advance of the performance. However, when we have a sell-out show, the auditorium heats up incredibly quickly. This, coupled with these being some of the hottest days of the year so far meant that the venue did get very warm. We have a number of building works scheduled over the forthcoming months and years, and increasing the air cooling systems is part of that proposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tonight's the night”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent show cast extremely professional, couple of mishaps leading to ad lib but was fantastic!!! Well worth seeing .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue E, Public Relations Manager at Oxford New Theatre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the show - audience feedback has been excellent all week. Hope to see you at the theatre again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford New Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Oxford New Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing