We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub, brilliant food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bookbinders Ale House

The Old Bookbinders Ale House
Ranked #3 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: French, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pub, brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I visited the Old Bookbinders for the first time this weekend and was very impressed! I ordered salmon in a lemon, white wine and garlic sauce and it was excellent; a huge piece of fish, cooked to perfection with a lovely sauce and plenty of vegetables. Brilliant service, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Verity27M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    121
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great impromptu meal out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We live in Oxford but had not tried this pub before. It's an easy walk from the bus stops on the Banbury or the Woodstock roads. We were given a polite welcome when we went into the bar and given a pleasant table in the window overlooking St Barnabas' church. Thereafter drinks were served (including a sample to see if the wine we had chosen was what we really wanted), the order taken and the meal served in very good order. The soup sounded interesting but I decided on the pate, then the crepe with smoked salmon, then the dessert du jour - another crepe, with apple and cinnamon and caramel. Management started with a mozzarella salad, she then also had the crepe and she finished with an ice-creamy, chocolaty kind of pudding.
We both enjoyed our meals very much, we liked the attractively old-fashioned style of the place and we were impressed by the service, which was unaffectedly friendly (whoever it was who served us - we had four different people, I think).
It was quiz night so we arrived early and paid the cheaper 'pre 7 o'clock' price. I didn't look to see how much more it would have been after the watershed, but we paid £35 for two three course meals and two large glasses of wine (with an automatic 10% added as a tip, so the total was £38.50). This was very good value; it's 'only a pub', but it is a jolly nice one with a very good chef and a very good team. Long may it prosper.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a terrific neighborhood pub that attracts people from all over. While it seems like the genuine traditional pub (to this outsider), the menu sneaks in some vaguely French food and crepes with the fish and chips. But it's the friendly, generous, and welcoming staff that give this place its warm and lively atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyStraight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A quintessential pub with an wonderful twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Two things distinguish the Old Bookbinders: (1) it has French-inspired food, and it's done VERY well (liver pate was scrumptious) and (2) they're NOT a place to see the World Cup. I deeply admire both their food and their choices. Friendly AND efficient service, and marvelous beer. The best of pub and brasserie with pub atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEWKESBURY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you go here,this is what NOT to do, Stay up night before til 4am just because it's been the best evening weather so far this year and it's Friday, Drink 6 pints in various establishments around Oxford, Eat heartily at lunchtime, sneak afternoon tea with large slice of cake, then come here expecting to polish off ANYTHING on the menu.... It's just too much... I managed their soup of the day and it was to die for!!... I was beaten by the burger! .... No, joking aside ... I was part of a party of 11, and we had the back room to ourselves.... I'd been here before when it was quieter, ...the ambience is first class, a trendy establishment with retro styling and a shrine to class music. The owners do it proud... On this occasion the place was packed...and to.be honest...just too hot and stuffy....so pick a quieter night and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bookbinders Ale House also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Bookbinders Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing