We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel”

The Old Bookbinders Ale House
Ranked #3 of 637 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: French, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

By pure luck I found out about this pub on the Internet and decided to give it a try. Very nice atmosphere there with friendly patrons. There are so many pubs in Oxford and this one is perhaps one of the lesser known ones, as it is tucked away in Jericho. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gamfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    140
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
“Best Local”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of my favourites in Oxford. Great ales, great food, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everyone we take says they wish they had a local as good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favourite pub”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've lived in Oxford for more than a year, and this is my favourite pub. Very nice atmosphere, fine bar selection, a wide variety of board games, and complimentary peanuts!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blaavand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, welcoming and generous”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

On a really busy evening (Friday 16th November), four of us arrived at 6.45pm in the hope of finding an early table for dinner (we had not booked). The team was superb and shuffled some later bookings to accomodate us (we had just over one hour to eat - plenty of time).
The food was absolutely delicious - two entrecote steaks with pepper sauce, one Benicassim (a gourmet burger like no other) and one moules marinieres had us in silence for some time as we delighted in an array of rich flavours. The house red wine was a very smooth Tempranillo and could not be faulted. For pudding we had creme brulee (lovely crisp top with thick and rich creme, and small slices of peach at the bottom).
The family team has clearly made a commitment to provide excellence with generosity.
Perfect binding!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cosy Sunday pub lunch with a French twist”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It seems jericho really does have lots of great pub food now. Had a very relaxing and enjoyable Sunday lunch here. Michelle, the landlord was incredibly accommodating and the food was excellent. Started with the cheesy garlic bread, then I had the excellent burger with all of the trimmings and my girlfriend had the entrecôte steak. We then had a crepe for desert. Couldn't really fault it and the beer was ice cold an good also. Will definitely come back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bookbinders Ale House also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Bookbinders Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing