We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great food”

Turl Street Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Turl Street Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $10 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friend and I decided to try the Turl Street Kitchen after having read the reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disapointed. We arrived at 1pm on a weekday and the restaurant was full but the staff were great at letting us know how long we would have to wait for a table and also gave us the option to eat in the free seating area next to the bar. We only had to wait 10 minutes for a table and the food arrived very soon after. I ordered smoked mackerel in a crusty role which was smoked on the premises and was delicious and my friend had an equally tasty beetroot and goat's cheese salad. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSK T, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks a lot - look forward to seeing you as often as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    214
    96
    45
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently brilliant food!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my second trip to TSK - both times have caused me to leave happy, and eager to return!

The menu varies from day to day depending on the local produce available that morning, and the recipes that are produced are second to none!

Be prepared to try something new - I'd never realised how nice celeriac was, or how well blue cheese could be offset by fennel!

Food prices are around £10 for a main, £5 for a dessert - but a bottle of still water is provided FOC for each table.

General atmosphere is pleasant - always busy but certainly not too noisy.
Free WiFi (password is on the wall on the left as you enter).

All in all I wish I could visit more!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davetreadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSK T, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much. And we also provide fizzy free too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Been here a few times, as a restaurant owner I have quite particular taste buds and expectations... When we eat out we don't just want great food- we want that something extra. Turl street has this extra sparkle!! For us, the relaxed atmosphere, delicious food and totally fab concept is just perfect! Thank you TSK..:-))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarefootIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSK T, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Really great to hear you enjoy what we do - particularly as a pro! Thanks a lot. TSK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Really nice food. Lovely atmosphere. I go here quite often and will continue to so. Very busy at peak eating times but this just shows the popularity of the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSK T, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Google Translation
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service and ambience, and reasonably priced”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently ate at The Turl St. kitchen for an informal dinner for a small group of friends to celebrate one of our friends birthdays and really enjoyed it. The food was best described as really tasty home-cooked fare, the prices were good, the service was friendly and efficient, and the ambience is relaxed, friendly and informal. However we are a good natured easy going bunch, and I'm not sure everyone would have seen our experience the same way.

It could have all gone so badly wrong, but it didn't... quite... because when we arrived our reservation had been given away to another group (without a reservation), and so after a short wait another table was found for us. However the restaurant buys fresh local ingredients and therefore operates an extremely strict stock control policy, and this manifested itself in several ways. Firstly in that several of the dishes on the menu had sold out, but this was OK as some substitutions were available. Secondly; we were unable to order an additional side dish of chips, as the chips on the menu were associated with specific meals and there was only enough to satisfy those orders, so as those meals had sold out, the chips had therefore sold out too. The last way the stock control was manifested was that I ordered a bottle of white wine from the short wine list, but they didn't have it; but OK these things happen.

Our group found these challenges to be quite funny, and actually it added to the evening in some ways, as our waiter was clearly having some mild embarrassment in repeatedly having to tell us that items we'd ordered had sold out. But he did it with good humour, and didn't seem to mind our mild teasing, so it was all OK. As I said, the food was tasty, and the prices reasonable, and these for us were the more important factors.

To be entirely fair the restaurant did recognise that things hadn't gone quite according to plan for us, and so reduced the price of the wine on our bill, and removed the service charge. Needless to say we didn't feel that was warranted, and so we left a tip anyway.

We all enjoyed ourselves, we had a good fun evening, and would go back for sure... just maybe a little earlier to reduce the risk that things had sold out, and hope they ordered a few more portions of chips.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSK T, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much for the generous review. Once again, we're very sorry about the mishaps on the evening, and we continue to spend time training and improving our systems to avoid this kind of thing happening in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turl Street Kitchen also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Turl Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing