We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$168
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$304
$267
Old Parsonage
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$177
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$238
$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$532
$431
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (997)
Filter reviews
997 results
Traveler rating
330
362
168
71
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
362
168
71
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy publondon pridepub hotelchristchurch meadowssunny dayriver viewlovely pubsuperior roomparking spacenespresso machinechrist churchfantastic locationlovely roomtop floorfull englishbreakfast was includedcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 997 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great location with easy walking access to the city. Rooms were clean and quiet with nice themes.staff very friendly and helpful. We were there over two lovely days so we sat outside for drinks and lunch, tables were at a premium as it is a very popular venue even on weekdays.
The food was ok, pub grub really and it was a little slow in arriving, but they were busy.
Overnight parking available but limited so book a place to ensure a place.
Overnight prices a little expensive but I guess that's the price you have to pay for a great location with parking in a lovely city.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lunch with friends, lovely location, weather great and food very good. We all chose the fish and chips and it was tasty and plentiful....though the service was a little slow. Would certainly recommend it. We arrived just at right time to get table on terrace at 12.30 as became extremely busy later.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was disappointed with my stay at the Head of the River.
We stayed in the Lewis Carrol room, which was perfectly clean, with a beautiful view of the river.
However, it was very small, and had no tea/coffee making facilities.
The en-suite bathroom was bright, clean, and fully functional.
The bed was (very high) firm and reasonably comfortable, and under normal circumstances, would have allowed a good night's sleep.
I'm not a particularly light sleeper, but I was wakened many times during the night.
The floorboards in the room above were so squeaky, that you heard every footstep from the upstairs guests.
Worse still, I was wakened on two occasions, with an ear-splitting squealing from the pipes in the ceiling above.
So, all in all, I did not sleep at all well.
Breakfast choice was fairly limited, but was adequate.
Despite previous comments from other guests, I found the staff to be friendly, courteous, and very helpful.
Parking is (very) limited, and has to be booked (at extra cost) in advance.
If, like me, you don't manage to book one of the spaces, you will find it difficult to find parking spaces within reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P12HAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited oxford for the night and chose the hotel due to its location next it the river and also the proximity to the city centre.
The room we stayed in was very pleasantly decorated and was very clean and modern. The bed was big and comfortable.
We would have loved to have sat outside for some drinks but unfortunately it rained for the duration of our stay.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Would definitely recommend and will stay again if we visit oxford in the future

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cma693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The deco in our room was nice and stylish. Toiletries smelt great. The view was not great but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it wasn't a problem for us. It was very close to the town, although we had a car, instead of driving, we walked around the city to the tourist spots. Bed was comfortable. Romantic lighting.

The only downside is there was no elevator, but we were given a room on the 3rd floor. Be prepared to travel light.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_trips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews