We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveler rating
343
370
173
75
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
370
173
75
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy publondon pridechristchurch meadowspub hotelsunny daychrist church meadowriver viewlovely pubsuperior roomparking spacenespresso machinefantastic locationlovely roomtop floorfull englishbreakfast was includedcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
764 - 769 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lunch with friends, lovely location, weather great and food very good. We all chose the fish and chips and it was tasty and plentiful....though the service was a little slow. Would certainly recommend it. We arrived just at right time to get table on terrace at 12.30 as became extremely busy later.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was disappointed with my stay at the Head of the River.
We stayed in the Lewis Carrol room, which was perfectly clean, with a beautiful view of the river.
However, it was very small, and had no tea/coffee making facilities.
The en-suite bathroom was bright, clean, and fully functional.
The bed was (very high) firm and reasonably comfortable, and under normal circumstances, would have allowed a good night's sleep.
I'm not a particularly light sleeper, but I was wakened many times during the night.
The floorboards in the room above were so squeaky, that you heard every footstep from the upstairs guests.
Worse still, I was wakened on two occasions, with an ear-splitting squealing from the pipes in the ceiling above.
So, all in all, I did not sleep at all well.
Breakfast choice was fairly limited, but was adequate.
Despite previous comments from other guests, I found the staff to be friendly, courteous, and very helpful.
Parking is (very) limited, and has to be booked (at extra cost) in advance.
If, like me, you don't manage to book one of the spaces, you will find it difficult to find parking spaces within reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P12HAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited oxford for the night and chose the hotel due to its location next it the river and also the proximity to the city centre.
The room we stayed in was very pleasantly decorated and was very clean and modern. The bed was big and comfortable.
We would have loved to have sat outside for some drinks but unfortunately it rained for the duration of our stay.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Would definitely recommend and will stay again if we visit oxford in the future

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cma693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The deco in our room was nice and stylish. Toiletries smelt great. The view was not great but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it wasn't a problem for us. It was very close to the town, although we had a car, instead of driving, we walked around the city to the tourist spots. Bed was comfortable. Romantic lighting.

The only downside is there was no elevator, but we were given a room on the 3rd floor. Be prepared to travel light.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_trips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel rooms are lovely! Could do with a fridge! Terrace on a weekend is extremely busy so it is very hard to get seated however it makes for a lively fun atmosphere. The manager was very helpful and friendly and sorted out our parking issue(thanks again!) breakfast was good and made even better by Ben who greeted us with a big smile despite his long shift the day before. He was very attentive to all guests breakfast requirements. Maybe due to nice weather it would have been nice to have breakfast on the terrace. All round good weekend. Thank you! We would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews