We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room but over priced for out of season.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Head of the River
Ranked #15 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
surrey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely room but over priced for out of season.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed one night in Christopher Wren room, nice décor, comfy bed, relaxing Jacuzzi bath, no tea and coffee facilities but free room service if you want tea or coffee, you just order it. nice view of the river. Parking is a bit tight we booked in advance. We think the room was a little over priced for being out of season, we would stay again for less money don't think it was worth £130. Tea and coffee facilities would be nice! more of a 3* than a 4* some signs of mould in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Christophe Wren room overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coupleguildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    223
    118
    49
    45
See reviews for
106
307
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

we stayed at this hotel on 3/11/13 after spending 2 nights in Windsor the room which was £130 per night was very nice however the bathroom was in a very poor state majority of the tiles brown and in need of re grouting, after just spending 2 nights in Windsor at a cost of £80 per room, the rooms and bathrooms of a very high standard I was very disappointed with this room. I decided to complain to the manager who after he had checked the room agreed and offered us a discounted room rate or the room opposite which was not a superior room, We opted for the other room, the bathroom being in a better condition but unless it gets some good cleaning will soon be in a poor state, we had a comfortable night excellent breakfast, didn't get a parking spot despite calling beforehand. This pub with accommodation has an excellent position serves good food and the staff are very pleasant and hard working (guy with the house mate from Mansfield is an asset) but it really does need a bit of TLC .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 325melanie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday evening and considering the location and the fact there was a busy bar downstairs it was a really enjoyable stay. The room was quiet despite what was going on downstairs, with a great view out over the river and lovely with a big old iron bed that you nearly needed a stepladder to get up onto! Lovely big bathroom, and some nice touches like complimentary beer as well as water in the room..now that's a first! Parking on site was a real bonus, and the breakfast was great, although the service was "leisurely".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardencity285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for a night in early September, very limited parking spaces so we had to drop the bags off at the hotel and pay to park on the park and ride around 2 miles away!

After this debacle we checked in and where shown to our rooms, the rooms where good, clean and tidy with the usual suspects however we had upgraded to premium rooms with jacuzzi however this was missing in action!!

We had a beer in the bar below around 6ish and although it was busy the wait started to bore me and the beer was flat!

We returned to our rooms to get ready to go out for a bite to eat and the room cards didn't work.

after much faffing and waiting we where let back in by a member of staff.

Later on after tea we went to bed around 11ish after a few night caps in the bar again slow service

The front rooms pick up all the noise still going on outside but this is bearable.

All in all, some little picky things that miffed us off but when your spending £150 p/n it should really be spot on!

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICTHEFISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a trip away for my birthday. We stayed here for 1 night it was a lovely hotel above a pub which at first you do think oh no it's gonna be noisy! But it wasn't our room was lovely very moden with a country twist. The view was lovely too over looking the river. It wasn't to far from the town.

Good atmosphere at the location and very welcoming would stay here again enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjackson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay with my husband. Charming little hotel. We stayed in The Sir Christopher Wren room which had a lovely view of the river. The staff were very helpful & breakfast was lovely. The location is great and close by to all main attractions.

Room Tip: Phone ahead to secure parking as limited spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russdee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I had booked to see Blood Brothers at Oxford New Theatre and we wanted somewhere to stay overnight. We settled on Head of the River. We were delighted with our "Oscar Wilde" room. Such character. Decorated and finished expertly. All the staff were a delight and could not do enough for us. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachcomber14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.9 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Head of the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Head of the River

Property: The Head of the River
Address: Folly Bridge | St. Aldates, Oxford OX1 4LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Head of the River 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Head of the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head Of The River Hotel Oxford
Head River Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing