We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Head of the River
Ranked #15 of 80 Oxford B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Was moved to this hotel by another in the chain, due to a reservation problem. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Bar staff were aware of the choice of wine they had (not just "red" or "white". Breakfast, for this size of hotel was fine, with plenty of choice. Room was OK, but with an extremely comfortable bed. View across river. A small car park, but I managed to park, with the help of a member of staff.

Coud imagine that in the summer, the outside seating would be great.

Am not aware of the cost, as bill was picked up by the hotel I had planned to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guf-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    239
    123
    52
    48
See reviews for
107
334
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

On a businness trip, I cam back to Oxford after a looong absence. I was last there when I was a teen-ager! I found this pub with accomodation through Tripadvisor and I am writing to confirm that it is really a GOOD choice! The location is a dream for a rowing 'fan' like me: right on the river, with a fantastic patio with well looked-after flowers. The room was very clean, ssentially comfortable – maybe something could be done about renovating the washbasins, still with hot and cold water taps separated. The food I had at dinner (they serve until 9 pm, then the pub takes over) was really really delicious: a smooth soup with potatoes and leeks, and a gorgeus plate of cheeses, among which a fantastic Oxford blue, accompanied by a chilli preserve that deserved a top vote! The atmosphere is casual, old-fashioned in the English pub style, but I just loved it and felt cocooned! Last but not least: as I was on my own and paying for a double room, they offered a discount of 30 GBP for every night of my stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had a lovely one night stay for a weekend out of London. Around a mile from the train station or very close to one of the city sightseeing bus drop-offs which you can pick up at the train station. We arrived very early (11am) but were welcomed with a coffee and were able to store our bags until our room was ready (2pm). We had dinner on Saturday night in front of an open fire - it was rather quiet due to the snow that started falling however we were well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed our meal - the luxury fish pie was delicious. Breakfast was good with cereals, yoghurt and muffins and your choice of a cooked breakfast from a full english to eggs benedict. This is a Fullers pub and yes it is a pub so its not top quality but the location to various sights and its prosition on the river is great and it does have character rather than being another 'chain'. We woulkd stay again if back in Oxford.

Room Tip: Room 5 - overlooks the courtyard so could be noisy in the summertime other a good space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed for a weekend at the end of last year.

Staff and management were very friendly, food was good and the pub/hotel was very clean.

However, we stayed in Room 9

There was no chest of drawers, so jumpers were left on the floor. Only 6 coat hangers in the wardrobe which didn't help.
One socket below the television did not work.
The hairdrier did not work.
We had to move the dressing table to plug the kettle in as there was a leg in the way.
We had to move the dressing table to open one the the small drawers (which was needed due to lack of drawer space) as there was a pillar in the way.
I had to unplug the move the bedside lamp and lean it on its side so I could put my makeup on at the dressing table due to poor lighting.
The bathroom mirror was loose and with no light over or shelf under (ladies will know what I mean)
The shower although clean had very bad black mould in the grout.
When we closed the curtains the whole lot met in the middle.

Had we been staying longer we would have asked to be moved - but we took it all in our stride and had a good laugh.

I don't know what the other rooms were like so can't comment.

Room Tip: Not Room 9, and if possible a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Head of The River, for 2 nights and enjoyed it's proximity to Oxford city centre.

The room we had was warm and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and towels changed both days. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good.

We had one meal in the restaurant/bar, which was very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noisy in busy periods, due to the pubs popularity and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornwallMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

we stayed for three nights over christmas and had a wonderful and relaxing time, all the staff from the manager to the cleaners were very friendly and helpful, even the chef came out and spoke to us his food was excellent, the room was very clean and comfortable, we would definately go back again

Room Tip: ask for double superior it overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cress1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Love the hotel. Great staff and brilliant location in city centre but next to River Thames. Food good but a bit pricey. A few parking spaces so may cause a problem if hotel is full. Our rate included breakfast and we were there mid-week but breakfast does not start until 8am. That is a disgrace for a hotel, mid-week in a city. Didn't realise that so it screwed up our itinerary for the day. Would stay again if in no hurry. Avoid if you are on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOjollygoodURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.9 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Head of the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Head of the River

Property: The Head of the River
Address: Folly Bridge | St. Aldates, Oxford OX1 4LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Head of the River 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated besides Oxford’s scenic River Isis, The Head of the River matches its food, drink and accommodation to the beauty of its surroundings. Whether you join us for an hour in the garden or for a night in one of our luxurious rooms, we’re confident you’ll hate to say goodbye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your The Head of the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head Of The River Hotel Oxford
Head River Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing