We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnighter in Oxford”
Review of Euro Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Euro Bar
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnighter in Oxford”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel has some poor reviews which I was aware of before going so I was not expecting much but the city was full so..... I was nervous.

I need not have been. It is true that the first time you go into the establishment you have to go into a rather testosterone laden bar in order to register, however once the business was done I was shown to my room and was very pleasantly surprised.

The staff were friendly, it was clean, the room was spacious and airy and once you have your key there is no need to go near the bar again unless you want to as there is a separate entrance. It is an old style hotel with a winding staircase and only about 3 or 4 rooms on each floor. I was on the top floor in a room that only had a washbasin and no toilet. I was aware of this before arriving. It was only a short walk to the bathroom so i did not find this too difficult. Due to the old nature of the building this hotel would be unable to cater for wheelchair users or anyone who finds stairs trying.

My room looked out over the coach depot which is behind the hotel and there was some noise although I did not find it bothersome. I think if you want a quiet hotel you do not book one in the center of a vibrant city! The bed was comfortable and there was tea and coffee facilities in the room plus TV. The breakfast the next day was absolutely delicious and the staff were friendly there too.

So I had a good stay and overall would definitely stay there again as it is reasonably priced for Oxford and the location of this hotel is the best thing about it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusySandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    38
    18
    53
See reviews for
21
27
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at the Eurobar for one week in May 2013 and in my opinion it is a good place to stay given the location and price. The room was very clean, it had a separate bathroom, also very clean. The breakfast is excellent. It is a no frills hotel so do not expect to be pampered. I also made full use of the free WIFI. Overall very satisfied and will book it again when will visit Oxford.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the bus terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjt107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

badly maintained hotel (windows leaking, lamps not running), unconveniently located next to the bus stop so it is very noisy during day and night, poor breakfast, dirty washrooms, far too expensive --> unfortunately a complete badly maintained hotel (windows leaking, lamps not running) , unconveniently located next to the bus stop so it is very noisy during day and night, poor breakfast, dirty washrooms, far too expensive --> unfortunately a complete disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoRe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I booked this hotel as I was seeing a show at the New Theatre and this hotel was very close. After reading reviews, I wasn't getting my hopes up but I was pleasantly suprised. We had a large double room on the third floor, the bed was comfy and even though the facilities weren't the best (our television didn't work) it was fine for one night. I would of happily stayed another two or three nights. The breakfast was ok but nothing special. The location is perfect in Oxford, though as it is central it is noisy at night but I didn't have a problem with that at all. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Davine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The location was excellent, only a few minutes from the centre and with loads of shops and restaurants nearby, as well as less than 10 minutes from the station.
The staff in the reception was ok, the girls who served breakfast barely talked...
The bed wasn't especially clean, but the mattress was comfortable, and the room was always warm.
The worst: the water from the shower was either freezing or burning, but taking a bath wasn't an option either, the plug didn't fit well, so it was impossible to fill the bathtub.
And then, at night, extremely loud music from downstairs kept us awake till late. It was as if there was a band inside of the room... Horrible. And the music was bad too, so joining the party in the bar wasn't an option.
For what it was, it was way too expensive, even though the location was that good. Won't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseCadwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had friends stay at the Euro Bar who said that this was probably the worst hotel that they have ever stayed in. It is next to a bus station and the clientele is very downmarket. It is not a good example of Oxford. The food at breakfast was very average and I would not book anyone into the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I booked this "Hotel" at the last minute, not having found anything about it on Trip Advisor. It is advertised as a Three Star Hotel, which according to the www.Oxford web site, will have a bathroom. I was amazed to see in the confirmation e-mail that it did not have a bathroom or any private facilities. They required two days notice to cancel the booking even though I had only booked the day before. I booked it through Booking.com and although they did at least answer my calls and respond to my e-mails (something that Eurobar has not done) they have not arranged a refund. The price charged for a room without private facilities was ridiculous and gave me no advanced clue on its status.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dampman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#19 of 81 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Buttery Hotel
The Buttery Hotel
#24 of 81 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Bar

Property: Euro Bar
Address: 48 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Euro Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Euro Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Bar Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing