We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect crash pad for a night out”
Review of Euro Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Euro Bar
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A bunch of us stayed here last week for a night out in Oxford and it was all that we needed. Triple room was perfect for myself and 2 other friends, and the others made do with sharing doubles.

The location is excellent, 4-5 minute stroll from the train station and absolutely central in this small sized city.

Our room was spacious but basic, water from one tap came out yellow for quite a while so wouldn't trust drinking much of the tapwater. Shower was fine, beds were adequate.
Would have preferred an iron and ironing board to a tv in the room to be honest but one of the guys in another room managed to get hold of one from reception that we took turns with.

The service differed depending on who we dealt with, it's a sticky floored sort of dingy corner pub full of odd blokes when you enter, and have to ask the barman/maid to check in.

We were not told what time breakfast (included) was or anything, and when we checked out at 12 and enquired on the off chance that it was still being served the eastern european bar maid looked at us like imbeciles, turns out it finishes at 11. Great full english over the road in the four candles pub for £2.99 anyway.

Also, returning to the hotel late at night it took us a while to work out which door we could use to enter as it was never pointed out or mentioned to us.

Overall, cheap and basic but all you need for a few hours sleep after a night out. Wouldn't recommend to anyone with a job interview in the morning as it was quite noisy 2-3am with revellers in the streets outside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barnabybleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 139 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found our room to be very clean and comfortable. It's very conveniently located near the train station. Our experience with the people working there was also very positive - very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was fine - was just disappointed with the instant coffee, considering that there was a proper coffee machine right there in the breakfast room. Really appreciated the price, the comfortable room, the tasty breakfast, and the friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenericnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay that is reasonably clean and in the centre of Oxford, this hotel is OK. Very efficient check in, the room was clean, everything worked, including kettle, TV and wifi, although there wasn't a hair dryer. The breakfast was fine. However, it is in the centre and there is some noise from the streets in the night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

In room 10 for 2 nights, which smelt terrible - as if a hoard of chain smokers were living under the bed. The floor was sticky in the room and the corridor smelt of urine. Convenient location however and fairly quiet at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pallendromic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Breakfast poor quality with rubbery eggs,cheap bread burnt mushrooms and tomato, bacon dripping with oil looked like it was cooked on a dirty grill.

Noisey room creaking pipes and can hear room above everytime they used sink. Dust on bed and on parts of room. Strange smell in room. Cheap toilet roll. Complentary milk pots in room were a month out of date!!!!!! Dull and dated looking room.

Dirty looking student bar down stairs. Generally an overpriced place to stay.

Glad it was only a one night stay. Would not go back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason25_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The location is great next to the bus station, but that there is not much more positive to say. Hotel´s Sound isolation is not good, at least my bed was really old and uncomfortable. In addition the free WIFI did not work and TV signal was poor. If you need a room for a one night, this is a reasonable choice for a quite low price, but definitely not for a longer stay.

Room Tip: As high floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My room was directly above Oxford's central bus station. There were coaches going in and out until 4-5am (I didn't get to sleep until then on the first night). If you need quiet for sleep then either bring earplugs or steer clear!

The room itself was well appointed and large. The bed was very comfortable, and the room and all the furnishings were clean. The corridors outside the room however were very grubby and smelled of urinal cakes.

The staff were generally friendly, if disinterested. The breakfast was cheap and microwaved.

Room Tip: Inside rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#23 of 44 in Oxford
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel Oxford
Museum Hotel Oxford
#34 of 85 in Oxford
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Buttery Hotel
The Buttery Hotel
#26 of 85 in Oxford
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Bar

Address: 48 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: $92 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Euro Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Euro Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Bar Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing