We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and quite location”
Review of Bath Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bath Place Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Bath Hotel in Oxford recently and I found the experience very good. It is a quite and very convenient B&B, located at walking distance to almost every important place in central Oxford. The attention is personalized, the owner herself is taking care of your needs, and the breakfast is excellent. In the evening, if you need a drink to unwind, there is a nice and cozy spot to do just that! The sheets are clean, smell good, and the bathrooms are spotless. I certainly enjoyed the experience and would love to go back, with my wife this time!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaulGauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 291 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Location is superb but the hotel is tired and need a lot of work. There was only a hand shower in our bathroom- it would not cost much to fix a shower over the bath! The stairs to our room were akin to a stepladder (we are older and should have been warned) and quite frankly dangerous. In addition, two poached eggs at breakfast set us back £5. Al in all, the bill was nearly £150 for the night and is very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I loved the quirky set-up of this friendly hotel. Going in & out to reach the various rooms/buildings would not be too easy for anyone with mobility problems. My, garden, room, was clean & comfortable I very private: the breakfast good & unhurried; the staff unobtrusive & helpful. Having the Turf next door was a bonus!
Fairly expensive for solo travel, but I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TammyTessney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A beautiful, historic and characterful hotel with extremely friendly and attentive staff.

We needed a room for 5 - 2 adults and 3 children - a tough ask. Our room was perfectly equipped, clean and characterful.

The location of the hotel could not be more central and perfect for exploring Central Oxford.

The room guide is exceptionally well written, with excellent recommendations for places to visit and places to eat.

We will definitely visit again and recommend you do the same!

A beautiful hotel steeped in astonishing history.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed on the basis of a friend's recommendation, and were not disappointed. The quaintness of the old buildings was charming, yet hotel was comfortable and warm within, with a cosy lounge to sit in. Our room was en-suite, and, though next to the Turf Tavern, was quiet. The location couldn't have been more central, yet away from traffic. The breakfasts were a delight, with bowls of fresh natural and fruit yoghurt, fresh fruit and compote of dried fruit, cereals, cheese, a basket of warm rolls, croissants and toast. There was also a plate of ham and salami for meat eaters. The staff were polite and helpful. Would return if visiting Oxford again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aramsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nothing can beat this hotel for location, and the price is within the pretty-low parameters of state reimbursement. Cobbling hotel rooms out of a 15th century building can't possibly afford the amenities of purpose-built modern hotels. But there's charm, and an almost-always-helpful staff (it seems that the lower you are on the staff hierarchy, the nicer you are!). Enjoyed breakfast, our room was very cozy despite the recent frigid snap, and I'd surely recommend to others.

Room Tip: We liked our first-floor room-- but we're urban types and don't mind the occasional noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Location, location! The Bath Place Hotel is in the perfect spot for easy walking all around central Oxford. Fab location. We stayed for 2 nights during the coldest spring on record in the UK, and the staff was obliging about keeping up the heat, even giving us an extra space heater for our room. The rooms are small but they were comfortable, the windows open which is always a plus, the bathrooms are modern and more than adequate, although bigger towels might be nice. Breakfast was more Continental than a full English, but there was plenty to eat and delicious as well, and one can order cooked food for additional charge. And the hotel has its own (pay for it) parking literally down the block, which in Oxford is a huge advantage. Depending on how you feel about atmospheric history, you may or may not enjoy the awareness the crooked staircase and slanty floors give you about the centuries of other people who have lived and walked in this truly historic building. We found the owner and other front desk people very pleasant and helpful. Considering the cost and further afield location of other Oxford hotels this is a reasonable place to stay, particularly if you don't have a lot of time and want to be right on top of the main city attractions, literally around the corner.

Room Tip: Quieter if you aren't facing the pub next door, which in any case quietens down at midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#23 of 44 in Oxford
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Place Hotel

Address: 4 Bath Place, Oxford OX1 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: -$1 - -$1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bath Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bath Place Oxford
Hotel Bath Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing