We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath Place Review”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bath Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bath Place Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London
2 reviews
“Bath Place Review”
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed at Bath Place for our first wedding anniversary. We were a little disappointed to say the least, it looked as though the curtains and valance could do with a good wash and there was a very dubious stain on one of the walls. We paid £110 for a double room and we thought the room was very small for the amount of money paid and we had to pay for a bottle of water each, we thought at that price, a bottle of complimentary water would have been standard.

We stayed in room 6 and we were situated by the fire door which banged every time a person passed through it - very annoying!

Probably won't stay there again.

  • Liked — The view out the window to the pub courtyard
  • Disliked — Its state of repair
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigeeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    101
    39
    30
    46
See reviews for
66
93
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

The pictures for this hotel made it look amazing, so I was excited when my boyfriend booked for us to stay there overnight.

On arrival, the outside was lovely, very quaint and tucked away off of a nice road very close to Oxford City Centre. We had upgraded from a small double room to a larger one for £10, therefore paying £120 in total. To be honest the room was not unpleasant, but we estimated that it was only worth about £65 a night. The bed was only about 5ft long and everything in the room sloped, from the bed to the soap holder in the bathroom and the TV. Also calling the bathroom an en-suite was a bit of a stretch, it was a very tiny room with minimal space and was quite worn. The continental breakfast was quite nice, I had read reviews of rubbery croissants, but we went at the latest time and the food still seemed fresh. One gripe would be to let people order maybe a bacon sandwich etc as not everyone is keen on Continental breakfasts.

The nearby pub the Turf’s Tavern was lovely. As it was raining for much of the time, we spent a good few hours in there drinking.

Overall it was a nice experience, and I wouldn’t have had anything to complain to management about, but I would recommend that for the money, the Bath Place Hotel isn’t great value. Also the pictures aren’t very life-like, so I would go by the reviews of customers on the internet too.

  • Liked — The quaint setting
  • Disliked — small bedroom
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank emily84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

This hotel is over a student pub - we knew this before we went and we don't mind a fairly late night so that was ok. What we were not prepared for was the fact that our room was directly above reception and that you could hear every word and every cough all through the night. We were there for 3 nights and on each night we had to get up and ask the night porter to be quiet as he was yelling and banging doors. The noise started again at about 5am and was so loud that it went through ear plugs. The bed was awful, you could feel the springs through it. The bathroom was dirty and the shower went hot and cold without any warning. The location was fine but that was all that was fine. Just because this hotel is quaint and old it does not mean it is good - and it cost us GBP370 for 3 nights of misery.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise and grime
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

I can not start to describe the disapointment of this hotel. The toilet was dirty and stained. the shower was grimy and no hot water. We were told that our room shared the same tank as 4 other room, what we to expect. I expect hot water for 140 pounds! The dirt and dust around the room was unbelivable. This hotel is in a wonderfull position with great history, that is no excuse for the standards. We complained to a lovely lady on the desk, she had other complaints that morning and was in tears.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank easyg0ing-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

A Group of us recently travelled to Oxford for a wedding, 14 of us stayed at the Bath Place Hotel. When we arrived we thought it was really cute and to be fair it is in a very central location with a really great pub next door. Four couples arrived together and we were checking, the receptionist was describing how stressed he was due to the numbers of people arriving at once.... obviously they don't put their staff under a huge level of pressure. The rooms were small and certainly in need of new carpets. Many of the rooms did not have showers. We stayed in a room on the ground floor, at 8am on the Saturday morning deliveries were made along the cobblestones which went on for at least an hour, needless to say we did not get much sleep. Be warned that they do not serve breakfast in your room on a Sunday so you have to eat in the restaurant which is an extra £7.50 per person - total rip off!
The staff were not friendly, we spent at least £2,500 between us for the weekend and did not get as much as a thank you from anyone. I believe there must be hotels that offer much better value for money in Oxford - do not stay there, they do not deserve your business.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Place Hotel

Property: Bath Place Hotel
Address: 4 Bath Place, Oxford OX1 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bath Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bath Place Oxford
Hotel Bath Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing