We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of Bath Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bath Place Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed June 19, 2012

For the cost, we expected much nicer. The room was tiny (three people in a very small, cramped space) and in disrepair. There were cracks in the paint and the bed frame, and numerous spots on the wall that needed to be repainted. The stairwell to get to the room was small, narrow, and very low ceilinged. Evn the shortest member of our party had trouble with this.

The breakfast in the morning was possibly the worst continental breakfast I have ever had. There was very little selection, and the milk was not cold. We were expected to know how to use a very complicated tea machine with no assistance. The food itself was not particularly good; the croissants were bland and the toast was crushed flat.

The hotels only redeeming qualit is its superb location. Great access to seeing all the colleges and the library, and very close to a selection of restaurants and shops. Otherwise, definitely not worth the expense.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liza4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 295 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Bath Place for three nights in room 2 and found it excellent for our needs. I had researched it on Tripadvisor before booking so had some idea of what to expect. Our room was charming with exposed beams and sloping floor and the bed was comfortable. The sounds from the Turf Tavern which we overlooked was not annoying and added to the atmosphere. The staff were friendly and gave us a swipe card for free parking 10 minutes away. The location was excellent for the price we paid - only one minute down the road and you are in the middle of Oxford. The breakfast was quite adequate.
If you are wanting location and atmosphere this is for you but research the rooms as they are all different.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurelc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Bath Place Hotel for two nights just before flying back to Australia. We were told by the Tourist Information Office that this was a wonderful old 17th century hotel and we would love it. Wrong. The floor of our very small room creaked and sloped downwards so that every time we came out of the bathroom we broke into a run. The double bed was horrendous. The mattress was so soft that when we sat on the bed the mattress sagged almost to the floor and also it sloped down on one side. I felt I had to hang on to my husband all night so he wouldnt fall out of bed. We had a 22 hour flight home the day after our last night there and got absolutely no sleep and boarded the plane exhausted. Their saving grace was that when we complained our room rate was reduced substantially. However, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I thought this was very expensive for what you got. We stayed in two connecting small double rooms 9a and 9b with our two young children and for £550+ for the privledge for two nights I felt is was rather steep. After one bath there was no hot water. The fire alarm which is apparantly very sensative went off twice during the night and I thought the breakfast was awful and did not include the standard fry up (especially when they wanted £2.50 for a second coffee!) If they want to charge almost hotel prices they need to provide an upgraded service. Up ate the bed linen and just get their act together. We would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at this lovely little hotel. Our room (15) was located on the ground floor of 4 Bath Place and was right next to the alleyway to Turf Tavern but we didn't find this at all instrusive. The only gripe would be that the light in the hallway was on all night and shone through our door, although after the first night we turned it off ourselves! Breakfast was perfectly adequate, although one morning we did go elsewhere for a brunch! The wi-fi was very good except for the Saturday when it was very wet and there was an electrical problem. the lounge was right opposite our room and very comfortable. They also do afternoon tea although we didn't find time to try it!

Room Tip: Rooms in No4 all overlook the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SidcupSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Bath Place is a great hotel if you are looking for a place to stay and want to be near the downtown area of Oxford. The hotel has its own charm and is located right above the Turf Tavern. I've stayed in the hotel for the past three years and can say that it is a great place to stay if you aren't looking for an upscale five star hotel. They have great wireless in the lounge and the breakfast is okay. I've always found the staff very friendly and helpful. The price of their rooms is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a very cute and quaint hotel. It is well located and very well cared for. It has some major issues.

1. No wireless signal. They advertise free wireless but when you check in they say they don't guarantee it will work. They give you a password and tell you good luck. In my room it did not work. So incredibly frustrating if you are working or traveling on business. In addition there is NO cell service on the majority of the property. Also a complete bummer. If you don't care about either of these things then this might be the property for you, but if you do then stay away.

2. There is a pub next door that is quite loud until about 10pm in the evening and the back of my room was right over the pub. The smoke from the porch of the pub filled my room if I opened my window.

3. Carpet in the bathroom. Enough said.

Even with these criticisms, I don't think that this is a terrible hotel for this area of the UK. Oxford is a university town and for the price of the hotel the value is good. The rooms are clean and well maintained. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but it is included in the room rate and the place is really a great traditional old English Hotel.. tucked back a cobblestone path.

Also they have 6 parking spaces available for guests... which in Oxford is a great plus.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pub are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WHS831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.6 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#24 of 44 in Oxford
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Place Hotel

Address: 4 Bath Place, Oxford OX1 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: -$1 - -$1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bath Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bath Place Oxford
Hotel Bath Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing