We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
49
103
68
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
103
68
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park city centre full english busy road abingdon road breakfast room yogurt tea and coffee making facilities b and b min walk christ church very pleasant stay comfortable beds main road breakfast was excellent home from home would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 254 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2018

Situated on a busy road so easy to see as the traffic was slow. No obvious signs for a car park so we took the turn immediately before the small Londis supermarket. Again no sign but we were able to see a small turning next to two garages which took us behind the building.
A very friendly welcome and shown to our room. Lovely room at the front, spacious with tea/coffee making facilities and water. The bathroom was a good size, a lovely shower. I personally would have liked a small shelf to leave toiletries on, but take nothing away, it was lovely. Also the toiletries provided were a nice touch. Perhaps could be better by having three fragrances that match rather than three different ones. Not at all major, a lovely touch.
The hot breakfast was cooked fresh to order and there was plenty of other options for a more continental style. There was a confusion as we requested fried bread and it arrived in a toast rack rather than with the breakfast, again it was not a problem.
Only 10 -15 mins walk to the centre though there were several buses available.
All in all we were very happy with our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank 470jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2018

Large clean bedroom and bathroom (#1). Comfortable beds. Well located - about 15 minutes walk to center. Helpful owner. Excellent hot and cold breakfast with fruits and yogurt. Parking a bit tight but fine with the help of the owner.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mag47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

My wife and I stayed in this establishment in April 2018,based on the glowing reviews on booking.com. Please , please ignore these reviews. The building is in an unkept undecorated condition with damp and deteriorating plaster in all of the public rooms. The room we stayed in was grubby and poorly furnished. The toilet /bathroom was very basic and dated. The breakfast was served by surly staff and was made from the cheapest supermarket food available and was very dissapointing. If I was paying a justifiable £50 a night then I’d have been less agreived , but £130 , what a rip off. Do yourself a favour , avoid at all costs and don’t trust booking.com.

Room tip: I can’t think of anything good except ease of access to city centre, ie 15 mins or 5 mins bus ride
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank allison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

Compact and clean rooms
Super host and very accommodating in manner
Parking can be tight but this is a close to centre location - it is to be expected
Quality breakfast - good variety

This isn’t the cheapest place to stay but you do get what you pay for

Thank you to the owner host for looking after my parents

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank everyextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here. Great location - only 10 min walk to Christ Church Park and the main city centre a few minutes further on. The exterior of the guest house doesn't do it justice. There is a rear car park which is a bonus, although there is lack of signage from the side road and no signage in the car park that you may need to walk around to the front of the building. Once registered in the guest house your main key will operate the car park and the main doors. The building is tired in places but there is evidence of newly decorated areas. The rooms are comfortable and have hair dryers, toiletries and tea/coffee facilities and a bottle of tap water is also provided . The rooms are clean and tidy. The only confusion we had was that at breakfast you had to collect your own cutlery, crockery and drinks etc. However the cooked full English breakfast was delicious. Staff and proprietors were welcoming and friendly.
Would certainly book againx

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jeanf438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews