We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top place to stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My family (including a 1 year old toddler) and I had to take a very spontaneous trip to Oxford. We booked Newton House and arrived there only a few hours later. I must say I am not keen on trips like that and was pretty much prepared for the worst. What a lovely surprise Newton House was. Not only is it very close to the city centre (with a pushchair it took me less than 10 minutes) but they also provided a car park; which can be a bit tricky when it's busy I think but we were lucky. We then received a very warm welcome and have been shown our room (room 9) which was right at the top. I assume it has recently been refurbished as it was beautiful. Nice decor, very comfortable beds (and a cosy and nice duvet, too!) and a very clean bathroom with a large shower. The towels were soft and fluffy and there was plenty of tea and coffee. The only slight negative point for me was the strength of the shower- personally I thought it was a bit weak. Anyway, I slept like a log. The next morning we went downstairs and had the best breakfast I've ever had in a b&b- the bacon of my full english was to die for, but additionally there were yoghurts and cereal etc. For the price I could not fault it and I would (and probably will) definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Janina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    83
    56
    17
    13
See reviews for
47
96
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay, it is a short walk to the centre of town, it is easy to find, there is a good car park (so once you have parked up Oxford is on your door step no need of a car) and we were allowed to leave it there on the day we checked out for the morning. All the halls and corridors were being repainted and are very smart. Breakfast was excellent so for lunch you only need a coffee and a snack (excuse for a nice meal in the evening). Beds were comfy, bathroom and beds were clean and bright. Loads of milk for teas and coffee in room and I bet if you asked they would provide loads more.

Our room was big enough but some may feel it was a bit small (being very picky now!)

Must end on a positive well done all at Newton House and thanks

Room Tip: Sorry only saw our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
618 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This place was very easy to find and a short walk in to the Oxford city centre and 20 minutes walk to the train station. There is a big car park to the rear and all of the staff that I spoke to were very nice and very helpful.

Sadly the hallways and stairs are pretty shabby which lets the whole place down. I don't think that it would cost a whole lot to dramatically improve the overall appearance of the place.

The bedroom though was very nice indeed, well kitted out, comfy bed and spotless linen. Tea making facilities, free wifi and so on. The bathroom was adequate but the shower was a bit limp and very small.

The breakfast was superb. Quality bacon, well cooked eggs, lots of choice, fruit, yoghurt etc.

Room Tip: Ask the duty manager what is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My son and I stayed here for one night while walking the Thames Path. It is situated just a fdew minutes walk from the river and ten minutes walk up to the centre of Oxford. We booked a twin room with en suite bathroom for £79 including continental breakfast. Our room had a double and single bed plus a single futon. This made access to half of the large dressing table a little difficult, but we were only had rucksacks with us and so it was not an issue for us. The TV was OK, but a small screen and a doorknob was loose. However, there was plenty of tea, coffee and chocolate drinks, Soft towels and a powerful, hot shower. Full English breakfast was included along with juice, toast, cereals yoghurt and fruit. Friendly, accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Room 4 was upstairs and overlooking the Abingdon Road. Not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Visited for 2 nights weekend with a group of friends. A brilliant position with a bus stop outside and only 10-15 minutes to walk into Oxford. Good points - rooms clean, bed comfortable, breakfast good with plenty of choice, staff friendly, car park free though a bit congested, Not so good points - no communal room which being a group, we would have appreciated, decor a little dated and overpowering in some rooms, rather noisy at the front of the property. However, reasonable value for money .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RozNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Terribly run down, needs refurbing, creaking stairs, mouldy bathrooms, so awful i didnt want to lie my head down and seriously thought about moving hotels however it was the christmas light show so all hotels were completley fully booked
Definitely not worth the £125 for one night.
Breakfast was tiny and the bread was mouldy!!
when I told the staff they apologised but then did not recall anyone elses toast which may have been mouldy too so I felt sorry that other people may have eaten the mouldy bread and been ill.
Would definitely not stay here again and recommend everyone to stay well away

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in a twin room for the one night while visiting Oxford for a ghost hunt at the castle. Check in was quick and easy, Manager offered to leave us a key as we thought we would be checking in late but in the end this wasn't necessary. Room was small but clean, slightly noisy though in the morning as we were right on the main road. Breakfast was lovely, especially the vegetarian sausages. Would stay again but would ask for a room that wasn't facing the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Balkan Lodge Hotel
#31 of 44 in Oxford
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 82-84 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing