We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“missing the sunshine”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed February 25, 2013

our winter stay in uk has seen cold damp weather but brightened up by a cosy guest house and joys of oxford. Just a short walk(10 mins) to city centre and providing exactly what we wanted a chance to explore on foot the spires of Oxford. Superb breakfast, comfortable if basic bedroom and adequate ensuite facilities.Whilst certainly not luxury the room is good value if fairly cramped.Wouls stay here again if wanting a convenient walking base for city.Busy road our front but did not affect our rear bedroom which may not be same for front rooms.Tiny bathroom but what more do you want for price!TV and internet excellent. One light not working in room no problem so not reported.Still cant wait to get back home in the sun!

Room Tip: rear rooms are quietest compared to breakfast room facing road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobincyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

A fantastic little B&B that was welcoming, clean and lived up to all our expectations. The fried breakfast and selection of juices, jams and options really was unexpected. Infinitely better than a lot of the "chain" hotels who charge an arm and a leg for the equivalent. It is also cooked to order rather than being left to sunbathe under a heat lamp too.

The lady who greeted us on arrival was wonderfully polite and helpful.The room we stayed in (top floor) had just been given a lick of paint and had everything you could possibly want in a B&B...

Highly recommended and will definitely stay again when we come to Oxford.

Room Tip: Not sure what the complaints are about the noisy road... We had a front-facing room and didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just needed a place to stop overnight near the centre of Oxford without paying silly money, and this ticked all the boxes. Friendly staff and a good location (about 15 mins walk from the centre) at a reasonable price. I did find the decor a little on the shabby side and there was some noise at night from the road, but it was very clean, offered free Wifi (which worked), a comfy bed and a good breakfast. Overall pretty good.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on the top floor (less noise from the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvk_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst my OH attended a conference and I explored Oxford. We chose the Newton Guest House as it was close to the city centre, and appeared to be one of the cheaper options for bed and breakfast in Oxford.

First impressions:
The B&B is on a very (very, very) noisy main road into Oxford. The car park is round the side of the B&B and is very difficult to get into. There is no official “entrance” – you basically have to knock on either the front or back door (or call one of the phone numbers if no one is available to let you in!). There isn’t a reception area – just an office, but the chap who showed us to our room was very friendly and gave us a map.

The room:
Unfortunately, we were put in the front room (room 11) so could hear every single vehicle that passed AND every single conversation outside. We thought this might improve at night – it didn’t. The only room still available to book was a twin room – but we figured we’d just put the beds together to sleep...how wrong we were! Each bed was a different height and neither was massively comfortable; it got to the point where I felt like Goldilocks!
Room 11 is right next to the front door and the walls are paper thin; I think they usually get round this by ending “check-in” at 9pm. However, an extremely loud American lady arrived at 10:45pm on our first night when we had been trying to get to sleep; the night manager made no effort to quieten her or move her away from the front landing area. The proximity of the front door also means that every time a guest enters at night, or leaves first thing in the morning, you are rudely woken (if you manage to sleep at all) by the sound of a slamming door. I must say that on the first night I only got a maximum of 4 hours sleep, and actually went out and bought some earplugs the next day in an attempt to quell the noise. Please note: this did not help the noise – which demonstrates how loud and badly sound-proofed the room was.
The room itself was fine – it was clean, the decor was nice, there were a plethora of lights to choose from, there’s a wardrobe in the room which was handy, there’s a hair-dryer and a good amount of electric plug sockets. There are tea and coffee making facilities (top tip: if you like your tea strong use two tea bags) and the room has an ensuite. The shower is pretty tiny, and being in my third trimester of pregnancy, I found it a rather tight squeeze to get into! The power of the shower is rather pathetic as well.

Breakfast:
The Breakfast room is a medium-sized room in the basement. You could help yourself to yoghurt, cereal and juice (Orange or Apple – not the highest of quality). If you want something more substantial the cook (I can only assume she was the cook) comes to your table and asks you what you would like. We both requested a bacon sandwich... when it arrived it was difficult not to suppress the sleep-deprived giggles; each sandwich had two pieces of over-salted, obliterated bacon inside what I can only assume was smart-price bread. I wouldn’t pay any extra for breakfast if it’s not included in the price of your room – there are some very nice cafes in Oxford that do breakfast.

Overall:
If I’m completely honest it’s probably one of the worst B&B’s I’ve ever stayed in. Unfortunately, Oxford is stupidly expensive when it comes to hotels/B&Bs – Newton House cost us approx £80 per night, which I feel is horrendously over-priced. If my OH’s company hadn’t been paying for the room I would have demanded the money back.

The only positives I can think of: there was free wi-fi...and at least it was clean!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the road. Take your own teabags if you like a good, stro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Whilst it's nothing to look at from the outside, the bedroom we were allocated was decorated in quite a modern style and the bathroom was clean but small. The bed was comfy and everything in the room worked (kettle, hair dryer, lights, etc.). Breakfast was good with choices of full English, vegetarian or continental as well as cereals. Small car park at rear and the buses run right past the front door. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the rear.

It's only a 10 minute walk into Oxford, crossing over the river and past a few good places to eat as well as Christchurch College.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Was given room 4 which is a comfortable, pleasant room with good bathroom. Breakfast is hearty.
Staff are more or less invisible apart from breakfast. There is a small shop next door for anything you need. Bus stop outside. 5 minute walk from River and a nice pub on one side and lovely restaurant on the other. Would use again.

Room Tip: would go for top floor as floorboards are very creaky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Only a fifteen minute walk from city centre. Adequate car parking so you can leave car and either walk or use public transport (bus stop right outside). Nice breakfast and good supply of hot water in en suite. Very helpful owner.
Our room lacked storage for clothes is so far as there were no drawers and only limited hanging space - but if you can live out of your suitcase this is not a problem.
Just be aware that you could get your car blocked in if later arrivals park right behind you as it isn't a huge car park - and there's no on street parking close by for visitors to the city.
Nice clean room with good wifi connectivity - if that is what you need. Useful hair dryer in room and hot drink making facility. Soap, shower gell provided too.
Good value and somewhere to go for if you are visiting Oxford for a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan_Cash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#25 of 44 in Oxford
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ethos Hotel Oxford
Ethos Hotel Oxford
#22 of 44 in Oxford
544 reviews
3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#20 of 44 in Oxford
1,070 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Address: 82-84 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: $101 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing