We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sevice from warm welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlborough House Hotel
Ranked #33 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent sevice from warm welcoming staff”
Reviewed March 13, 2009

i stayed here for two nights whilst on a course in Oxford. On arrival at reception I was offered apple juice or water, a nice touch after a long journey. It was situated a bus ride outside the city centre but there were regular buses. My room was in the annexe and was very spacious, clean, bright and well designed. The well stocked kitchenette and mini-bar were a boon and the cooked breakfast was delivered promptly, steaming hot, to my room. All the staff I met were extremely polite and helpful. I would definately stay here again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    122
    48
    18
    19
See reviews for
85
106
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Room was nice; carpet throughout was grubby but had obviously been hoovered; we reported toilet not working properly but nothing done; pillows were hard and lumpy; breakfast limited - no choice and same each day; had to keep going to ask for : first day,towels, and cereal bowl, second day, toilet rolls, third day, milk, juice, butter, cereal.
Welcome was warm but did not feel relaxed. Did not like "do it yourself" breakfast. Felt it was very overpriced and extremely surprised by A A rating.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeiloSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Ideally situated, 30 minute walk from Oxford and on a direct bus route. The rooms are very large and well equipped and breakfast is taken in the room. Everything was clean and tidy but I had to have my Duvet cover replaced as there was blood on it from a previous occupant. Would have given this an excellent rating but the family living in at the hotel decided to have several domestics on our last night and woke us up in the early hours on a couple of occasions. Despite this. which was probably a one off.I would recommend this hotel and would certainly use it again.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank romanSandbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I found this nice bed and breakfast by chance. I really enjoyed my stay. My room was clean, the breakfast nice and personnel extremely kind.
It is a little far from the city center but the bus connection is good and if you like walking is just a 15 minute distance.
I will be there if I am back to Oxford

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cortomalteseperugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

We stayed here Christmas Eve and Christmas Day 2008 so we could be with family in Oxford at that time.
We had a double and two twin rooms on the ground floor and found the accomodation very clean and well presented. The decor was a little dated but the rooms were very spacious and well equiped.
We did not expect breakfast given the time of year but were pleasantly surprised with the items left for us in the kitchenette. A toaster would have been nice and some serviettes but there was lots of choice and more than enough.
The staff were very polite and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. We were all very comfortable and pleased with our choice.
We were happy to pay the rate and the location suited us.
Would recommend

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Eninamewildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

We picked the Marlborough House based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor. And we (2 persons) can only confirm them after having now enjoyed a three week long stay in room 8 and later room 15.

Staff
====
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful, we always felt welcome and cared for. Be it calling a taxi, using the printer, receiving mail or even downloading a device driver for broken computer accessory, the reception staff would help. And it was no problem to leave our luggage at the hotel when we had to interrupt our stay. The homey lounge with coffee/tea facilities, wireless LAN and an electronic piano helped us bridge the time gap to the departure of the airport shuttle. Perfect for a business trip.

Rooms
======
Clean rooms are a matter of course in this noble yet cozy bed & breakfast. The pleasant rose or yellow wallpaper shows no sign of being worn out. Practical curtains and a track blind can regulate the sunlight from bright to dim to completely dark. A desk with desk light and mirror is perfect for working or make-up. Warmth was provided by modern adjustable heaters.

Sleeping
=======
Most important for us, it's absolutely not noisy, despite being close to the Woodstock road. A single blanket for the double bed needs getting used to, but a second one could be found in the cabinet, albeit without bedcover. We had our own cover anyway and I'm sure that reception would also provide one. Very comfortable mattresses, two cushions per person and the proper darkness guarantee a pleasant slumber.


Bathroom
========
In the en-suite bathroom, two separate water taps for hot and cold water and a victorian toilet flush may be inconvenient to the continental traveller, but they are, in fact, a widespread british charm. You can use the combined water tap in the kitchenette instead. The bath in room 15 had no window but ventilation but, like all the other rooms, a towel radiator instead, so the towels would dry here as very well. The hotel staff installed new shower heads during our stay, they seem to be modernizing the bathroom equipment bit by bit.

A laundry can be found in the nearby Summertown district. An ironing service shop exists as well, in case you are too lazy to use the electric iron and ironing board available in the hotel room. Perfect for a long stay.

Eating and Drinking
================
A pleasant speciality of this B&B is that breakfast is served in your room each morning. Whether full english or continental, having breakfast in your room is a fine thing.

A kitchenette can be used to cater for the day, too, thus making it as inexpensive as at home. Of electric devices, the kitchenette contains a fridge, an electric kettle and a microwave, but no cooker. We particularly enjoyed the ample supply of included tea time items like cookies, coffee and hot chocolate; each day, the staff would diligently ascertain their plenty and replenish to your wishes.

Restaurants and shops can be found in the Summertown mall, a 15 minutes walk away. We regularly had a palatable take-away dinner of excellent value at the Indian restaurant "Saffron". They also deliver to your room for free if your order is more than £10. Their menu is available at the hotel reception, too.

Communication and entertainment
===========================
We made heavy use of the included wireless LAN (64 bit WEP). The room telephone is of course expensive, 25p per unit, which is for example around £3.30 for a three- minute-call to the continent. But there are alternatives like internet telephony, your mobile phone or public telephones near the grocery stores in Summertown.

The choice of programs of the TV set is a bit limited and unfortunately, Channel 4 could not be received properly, so that we could not watch our beloved daily Simpons episode, the only TV program that doesn't bore us to death.

  • Liked — Caring staff
  • Disliked — TV program too limited for TV junkies
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anatinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2008

This is a very underwhelming B&B. It is seriously overpriced. Rooms are not clean and smell like mildew. Breakfast was barely edible and is brought to your room before 9am. Breakfast doesn't even include coffee (if you want some you can use the package of instant and make your own). The location is also very far from the centre of Oxford. In short, nothing to recommend it. Only stay here if you must stay in Oxford and there are no other options.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank QualityControlDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlboroughHouse, Duty Manager at Marlborough House Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2008
The room that you checked in did have condensation which happen this time of the year in a couple of our ground floor rooms because of the flactuation in temp. The reception staff realised this the moment he checked you in and moved you to another room.
We do serve freshly cooked breakfast which is served in the rooms and are dissapointed to hear that it was not up to your liking.

We do take your commnets on board and will do the needful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Burlington House Hotel
Burlington House Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 82 in Oxford
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Margarets Hotel
St Margarets Hotel
#32 of 82 in Oxford
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Five Mile View Guest House
0.4 mi away
Lonsdale Guest House
Lonsdale Guest House
#64 of 82 in Oxford
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House Hotel

Property: Marlborough House Hotel
Address: 321 Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marlborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing