We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlborough House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlborough House Hotel
Ranked #33 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“value for price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spacious and cozy room. The bed was very comfortable.
Kitchenett with complementary drinks and snacks and a lovely breakfast in bed.
The staff was nice.
A bit far from the center but I will centainly come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sempis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordKaushik, Manager at Marlborough House Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with.

I look forward to welcoming you to Oxford in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Kiki
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    120
    48
    18
    18
See reviews for
85
103
39
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lisboa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

the location to the center it´s far away to walk, the furniture of our two rooms are a bit old fashion, only one reading lamp in two bed rooms , the shower of both room don´t have enouht pressure,one of the matress of one bad , its old and not confortable.
The breakfast must be taken in the rooms!!
the situation it´s not worse because de staff, reception itá really nice and very efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josereves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordKaushik, Manager at Marlborough House Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor.

I wish you all the best for all your future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Kiki
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at the Marlborough House Hotel. Very nice and cozy room, obviously recently renovated. Clean and tidy, with (a very small) TV and free wifi. Very nice bathroom and spacious. The small fridge is full of butter, jams, juices and yoghurts, all free! Breakfas is deliverd to the room. Parking and bus stop close by. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were met on a drizzly spring evening by a wonderfully smiley lady who took us to our room and showed us all is features.

Our room (a superior double) was very spacious and complete with kitchenette area and complimentary beverages and breakfast things.

Had a wonderful sleep on the super comfy bed. And woke up to have English breakfast delivered to our room.

Overall a lovely stay. Lovely room. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordKaushik, Manager at Marlborough House Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with. I appreciate your kind words and feel encouraged that the our efforts are creating a comfortable stay for our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you to Oxford in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Kiki
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was a great experience. Very nice hotel. Clean. Spacious rooms. The staff was especially nice and friendly and helpful with directions to get into town centre and London. Perfect location to hop the bus into town. I would definitely stay here again. Well equipped room with orange juice and appreciated the breakfast delivered to our room. Really nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordKaushik, Manager at Marlborough House Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with. I am very encouraged by your positive comments and appreciate your kind words.

I look forward to welcoming you to Oxford in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Kiki
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very friendly welcome. Room was spacious with a kitchenette and well decorated. Probably the largest room we've stayed in for under 80 GBP. Fridge was well stocked for a light breakfast ie juice, milk and counter top cereals. The bed was comfortable and very small flat screen adequate. Our room and hotel were quite clean, almost spartan however, I think that's how they keep the value up and cost down. Room location was not the best as it was on the main road with a large flood light on the front window (that shut off at 1100). Biggest irritant was the unreliable internet both before and after it was reported and fixed. This would negate this stay for a business trip. MHH is on a bus route #6 which cost 4 GBP round trip to town. Overall, great value for money with potential for simple improvements.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordKaushik, Manager at Marlborough House Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with.

Yours sincerely,

Kiki
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here, recently, with friends and found it well located for both the main access roads and the nearby Oxford suburb of Summertown which has some great restaurants and bars.

It is a family run hotel and they are extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. My room, which I was personally shown to, was on the top floor of what is a very large house. The room was of a good size, well appointed with a small kitchenette, fridge, fresh milk, cutlery etc. These are the positive attributes.

On the downside the hotel needs something of an upgrade and modernisation. Whilst my room was big it had one stark centre light and a small desk lamp. The bathroom fittings, all clean, were very dated as was the furniture. Access to the tiny car park is via a narrow entrance and my friends had to leave their car out on a side street overnight. Navigating in and out of the car park onto a busy road is also a bit of a challenge.

My biggest gripe was trying to shower in the morning. No matter how I tried to work the basic shower controls I could only get scalding water - so gave up.

This aside the hotel serves the purpose of providing good, basic, accomodation and at a price of £70.00 for my twin room it was certainly better value for money than, say, a Travelodge. I may think twice about staying again but have no regrets about checking in on this occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntershipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordKaushik, Manager at Marlborough House Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with.

Yours sincerely,

Kiki
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Five Mile View Guest House
0.6 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 84 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Margarets Hotel
St Margarets Hotel
#29 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#10 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lonsdale Guest House
Lonsdale Guest House
#67 of 84 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House Hotel

Property: Marlborough House Hotel
Address: 321 Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marlborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing