We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect blend of hospitality and business services for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burlington House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, KY
1 review
“Perfect blend of hospitality and business services for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

After a long difficult 2-day airline-delayed trip from the US, our four colleagues arrived at the Burlington House tired and ragged with no luggage. Nes and the charming house itself provided everything we needed at just the right moment to allow us to recover, to let us check email and use the internet and then to visit the city and enjoy a fantastic evening meal at a nearby restaurant. After a wonderful breakfast, we continued on the next day rested and relaxed. Would recommend to all. Terrific place. hope to stay there again soon.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank swsmith017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    90
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
48
219
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

My fiance and I visited Oxford for the weekend and found that the hotel itself was one of the highlights of a thoroughly enjoyable trip! The manager was very friendly and attentive, the room we had was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean, and the breakfast served in the morning was delicious. We came away without a single complaint, and would happily recommend this hotel to anybody who likes an intimate and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egf26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

On arrival my friend and i were greeted by Nes our host who provided us with a glass of juice as we put down our cases. He escorted us into the cosy lounge and gave us lots of information about Oxford, the best bus routes, great restaurants etc. We were made to feel very welcome and he had a sense of humour which was most welcome after a four hour drive.
Whilst we were were there we actually stayed in two rooms due to a booking error however, this was fine because both rooms were decorated and cleaned to immaculate standard, with plenty of storage for two girls on a weekend getaway. Provision of bottled water, tea,coffee and biscuits in the room were excellent.
Breakfast was good with fresh bread and REALLY GOOD COFFEE. Nes paid much attention to detail at breakfast time and only wanted the very best for his guests.
We were really fortunate that the weather was fantastically hot and sunny the whole time, meaning that taking the bus into the city centre at the stop just outside the house was no grind and really reasonable priced fares.
My ONLY criticism is because it was so hot we needed the windows open all night, Banbury road can be quite busy from very early in the morning so it was a little noisy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is a lovely boutique hotel. It's close to Oxford with buses passing every few minutes. My room was small but clean and well-appointed. The wireless internet was handy. The manager (Nes) was very helpful. The breakfasts were fabulous - home-made muesli, poached fruit, great omelettes. I had a really pleasant stay - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

What a lovely find! My single room was comfortable, spacious, clean and modern. Nes, the manager, was helpful and courteous at every turn and the bus to and from Oxford City Centre makes it conveniently located. I enjoyed the quiet after the hubbub of a day in the city and the breakfast was truly outstanding! Like other reviewers, I'm a real fan of the homemade brown bread, but all items were well-prepared. When I return to the area, I will definitely return to Burlington House!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2xntrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Nice and tidy B&B with a heartly welcome from the manager. Rooms where nice and compfortable. Bathroom had a good standard and was clean.
Breakfast was good - especially the homemade brown bread !
Overall we can definently recommend staying in Burlington House and would do it again !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas2009Bavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Arrived for a long weekend and booked Burlington based on reviews on Tripadvisor. Needs a 10min bus ride to and from city centre but close to shops. Booked a double and king sized ensuite over 3 nights due to availability. Double ensuite was small (incl. the bed) but clean, neat and had a nice, big bathroom. King sized ensuite was rather flash in comparison- really big room, modern facilities but whole effect disturbed by bathroom which hadn't been cleaned and was quite disgusting (had to boil water to scrub toilet bowl). Nes, the manager is great- on the ball, professional and informative- apologised profusely but it did diminish our experience. Bit of a rude shock as the establishment seemed above those sorts of mistakes. Breakfast was just ok- matter of taste. I think if it weren't for that episode we'd definitely go back but might try a different place next time!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go_team_bliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordInsightful, Manager at Burlington House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Thanks for your comments. We are really glad you enjoyed the stay and benefited from Nes's charms!

This situation has now been resolved. We had some trouble with a certain member of our chamber-staff, who unfortunately was dismissed after your stay.

We have learnt a valuable lesson here to check the rooms before they are let which we usually do, but on this occasion it slipped through our room checks. We will ensure we check our chamber-staff's work more thoroughly in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.1 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Property: Burlington House Hotel
Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burlington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing