We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burlington House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is a lovely boutique hotel. It's close to Oxford with buses passing every few minutes. My room was small but clean and well-appointed. The wireless internet was handy. The manager (Nes) was very helpful. The breakfasts were fabulous - home-made muesli, poached fruit, great omelettes. I had a really pleasant stay - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    96
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
48
230
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Canada, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

What a lovely find! My single room was comfortable, spacious, clean and modern. Nes, the manager, was helpful and courteous at every turn and the bus to and from Oxford City Centre makes it conveniently located. I enjoyed the quiet after the hubbub of a day in the city and the breakfast was truly outstanding! Like other reviewers, I'm a real fan of the homemade brown bread, but all items were well-prepared. When I return to the area, I will definitely return to Burlington House!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2xntrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Nice and tidy B&B with a heartly welcome from the manager. Rooms where nice and compfortable. Bathroom had a good standard and was clean.
Breakfast was good - especially the homemade brown bread !
Overall we can definently recommend staying in Burlington House and would do it again !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas2009Bavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Arrived for a long weekend and booked Burlington based on reviews on Tripadvisor. Needs a 10min bus ride to and from city centre but close to shops. Booked a double and king sized ensuite over 3 nights due to availability. Double ensuite was small (incl. the bed) but clean, neat and had a nice, big bathroom. King sized ensuite was rather flash in comparison- really big room, modern facilities but whole effect disturbed by bathroom which hadn't been cleaned and was quite disgusting (had to boil water to scrub toilet bowl). Nes, the manager is great- on the ball, professional and informative- apologised profusely but it did diminish our experience. Bit of a rude shock as the establishment seemed above those sorts of mistakes. Breakfast was just ok- matter of taste. I think if it weren't for that episode we'd definitely go back but might try a different place next time!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go_team_bliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordInsightful, Manager at Burlington House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Thanks for your comments. We are really glad you enjoyed the stay and benefited from Nes's charms!

This situation has now been resolved. We had some trouble with a certain member of our chamber-staff, who unfortunately was dismissed after your stay.

We have learnt a valuable lesson here to check the rooms before they are let which we usually do, but on this occasion it slipped through our room checks. We will ensure we check our chamber-staff's work more thoroughly in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

A very clean, pleasant hotel, with a home-like atmosphere.

I stayed in one of the double rooms (there were no single ones available, as the hotel was fully booked). It was a large and beautifully furnished room, combining antique-style furniture with a modern and sparkling shower room. The free internet in the room can be very useful, especially if the purpose of your stay is business or academic, but also just to keep in touch with friends.

The breakfast was really excellent, and very efficiently served by Mr. Ness, the manager. He manages to remember all the names of his guests, which makes one feel quite at home.

I really liked the place and the service, and would definitely stay at the Burlington house again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortal-Paz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Stayed at the Burlington based on other reviews seen of the establishment. Good location and comfortable rooms, with parking which is always a bonus. Room design a bit quirky/out of step with the building, but perfectly adequate. Was advised a re-furbish is imminent, which will address any inperfections (the shower was in need of a freshen up). Dissapointed with the description of the room in terms of 'Kingsize'; which reflects not the size of the bed, but the room, when I enquired re paying for 'Kingsize' on original booking. Breakfast was ok but expected more, considering price and descriptions (served on small plate). Also, breakfast finised at 08.45 which is too early when statying on a leisure break. We ate out one morning as wanted to lay in longer than breakfast timings would permit. Saying that, the room phone rang at 9 o'clock and again at 10 o'clock. Good location for local restaurants and only short bus ride into town. Manager helpful in terms of location and amenities, but on occasion a little over attentitive. Overall, comfortable stay, good location, if a little over-priced. Lots of places to stay in the area, so will try another hotel/B&B's experience on next visit to Oxford.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Book here only if you can be totally assured that
A.Your children will not get sick
B. Your parent will not die
C. You are 100% sure that nothing will happen to interfere with your trip

This manager is totally without any flexibility in his reservations. I have travelled the world over and have dealt with hundreds of hotels and am prepared to pay for one night in the event of an unexpected cancellation. This manager charged the full price for two rooms for 4 nights. I was charged over $1,200 for a place I will never see. The cancellation policy says that you will be charged a fee for additional nights that they are unable to rent...BUT does not tell you they will charge the full amount..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCDame123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordInsightful, Manager at Burlington House Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
Thanks for your comments.

I am sorry you feel this way. Hotels, in general (not just Burlington House), have what might seem like a harsh cancellation policy - but without something to protect the hotels interest, people take advantage.

Firstly I would like to add the background to this to ensure a fair view of what's happened gets across to all our potential customers so they can form an 'informed' opinion.

The original booking for this room was by email - and it clearly states that the room enquiry is for June. Unfortunately the guest thought they had booked for July. There were several emails that followed this original email and at no point was this mistake highlighted. I'm not sure what more we could have done to uncover this mistake.

As the guest was travelling from America, we had assumed when they didn't show up on the date of arrival, that they had experienced travelling delays. We tried contact them on arrival date, to no avail. We emailed the following morning to find out what was happening and it was only at this point that the guest realised the mistake. It's very difficult to resell the rooms at such short notice - which is why all hotels carry a similar cancellation policy. It's such a shame that the guest did not check the details of the final confirmation email before that moment, which clearly states the dates the guest was booking and our cancellation policy.

We are always very busy and as our regular guests know our rooms are never available at such short notice. We only have 12 rooms here and usually bookings are made weeks in advance. We do not normally get walk-ins. Had the rooms been re-sold we would not have charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Property: Burlington House Hotel
Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Burlington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing