We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burlington House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Hurley, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The rooms were clean and pleasant, the breakfast was excellent, and the staff were cordial and efficient. The location is a bit out of town, but convenient and frequent buses are available. Nes is a perfect host.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    94
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
48
227
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at this B+B, and it is remarkably well run. On a convenient bus route.The breakfasts are really something to talk about, handmade muesli, locally sourced products, bread baked on site.. Amazing. The bathrooms and rooms are second to none..staff is nothing but top class. Big up to Nas and his team. The best in Oxford.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank osharrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I travel with business a lot and this B&B is probably one of the best that I have stayed in. The wonderful Nez looks after you from the minute you arrive, making sure you know where to eat, helping with taxis - pretty much anything, He makes you feel like you are the only guest he has to worry about. I stayed in Room 12 which is outside the main guest house, it was clean, lovely comfy double bed, great shower ( with shower curtain) TV, Tea and coffee, hairdryer, free v. good wifi. The breakfast was brilliant and I would recommend the granola - it is the best I have ever tasted. Thank you Nez and co - I will be back next time I am in Oxford.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a great stay here recently. The hotel is on one of the main routes into Oxford centre, so very easy to get into/out of town by bus/taxi or as we did walk (30 mins). Breakfast was very nice with most (if not all items) home made or locally sourced, very tasty. Malcolm was very helpful and friendly. Would certainly go back if we are ever in the area and would have no problems recommending it.

Room Tip: May be keep away from the front of the house near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirromTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Nes operates this B&B and is the most attentive, helpful and friendly fellow you will ever encounter. We were placed in a 3 room annex off the courtyard which proved to be very modern, quiet and convenient to the breakfast area. Service was superb. Unfortunately the room was very small by American standards which made it impossible to unpack our suitcases. We did not get to see the rooms in the main building which has 3 stories. Although not in city center, a nearby bus made it very easy to get to city center and other nearby attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our room was decorated superbly and it was very clean and cozy room. The bed was really comfy, and the bathroom had heated floors! Good price, good location, great host. The breakfast was divine! Had gluten free bread too! I have nothing to fault on this place. highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We just had a lovely weekend staying at Burlington House. Everything about this hotel was excellent; the room, the location, the breakfast. The breakfast is by far the best I have ever had- no over cooked eggs, no greasy meat and no dodgy beans. Instead food cooked to order, home cooked bread and homecooked granola- amazing!! Other reviews have said it is a busy road BUT we had the tripple gazed windows open and had no problems. There are limited places in the dining room and car parking space BUT we did not have any promlems with this. I cannot praise this hotel enough! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katifer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
719 reviews
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.0 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Property: Burlington House Hotel
Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Burlington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing