We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burlington House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$297
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$233
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$316
$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$104
$99
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
336
105
36
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
105
36
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolathe buscity centrebanbury roadprunessummertown shopsbreakfast was deliciouson arrivalbiscuitssmall hotelminute walknorth oxfordtop floorcomfortable beddouble roomfantastic stayguest house
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 498 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

In my opinion this is a bed and breakfast not a hotel. Were met on arrival by the owner who showed us to our room and gave us all the relevant information regarding the accommodation. Room was in an annex to the side of the property which meant we only visited the main building once for breakfast. Unusual room felt like living at the bottom of the garden. Smallish room with a small double bed. Clean and tidy with a small LCD tv and a desk a very small wardrobe and a couple of bedside cabinets. Amazing what you can get into a small space. Off to the side of the bedroom was a wet room with wash basin, toilet and shower. All again very clean and tidy but could do with some extra storage space. Whole annex of three rooms appears to be quite a recent addition to the property. Quite a bit if traffic noise through the door/window which might cause problems for some. Breakfast was good with good quality fresh items well prepared with tea, coffee and juices. Not a large amount but adequate to start the day. Car parking can be found at the side of the property so take the road right next to the b&b. There are four or five spaces so if it's full you'll have to park in the road. The owner was a very friendly chap and helpful. With regard to the location anyone who says its a fifteen minute walk into the centre of Oxford they have no idea of time or distance. It's a good thirty to thirty five minute walk. I strongly suggest the local bus number 2 from just up the road from the property with a time of around ten to fifteen minutes. Up to 6pm you have a bus about every 3-4 minutes, each way! If you want to walk down to the local shops and restaurants it's a five minute stroll. So in summary, good spot for a night or two in Oxford, well placed, with clean accommodation and a good breakfast. No extra service available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Burlington House as a weekend getaway and got much much than we asked for. This is not a B & B, it's pretty much a 5 star hotel thanks to the care and attention of the manager, Nes. The breakfast is just fantastic, from the homemade bread to the little cafetieres and cheese omelettes all made fresh to order. The room was spacious, immaculate and very well decorated. Free parking and 12 mins to Oxford city by bus but we had very little reason to leave. Nothing but praise for Nes's hotel, not a single complaint and we will be back very soon! Thanks!

Room Tip: We had a free upgrade to a deluxe room and it was fantastic.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St_abu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for a single night in a standard double room, and the proprietor Nez (forgive the potential misspelling) made the whole stay a real pleasure. The whole place is tastefully decorated and very clean, the facilities are good for a B&B, and the breakfasts are genuinely excellent (including home baked bread, locally produced eggs and home made granola). Only slight downside is the location, since the hotel is situated in Summertown, which is a northern suburb of Oxford, rather than the city centre. Nonetheless, this is an excellent little B&B with rooms available at a fraction of the price of Oxford's more upmarket hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnny2hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This Bed and Breakfast really is much more like a Hotel. Very stylish, and importantly clean facilities. Breakfast is lovely but isn't done at the time advertised. Hotel information states weekend breakfast is 8.15 however I was told upon arrival it would be 8.30 - this is inconvenient if you want to be somewhere for 9am. Timings aside breakfast is really lovely, with a good fresh range of options.
The bedroom I stayed in was lovely, with a great size shower room.
The only reason I have not given this hotel a rating of 5 is because I could not get the Wi-Fi to work, which when on business is quite important. As I got in late in the evening there was no one about to ask for help with this and when I tried to use the internal phone no one answered.
Overall I had a lovely stay and have booked again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I visited Oxford in mid December and stayed at Burlington House for 3 nights.
We both enjoyed our stay. We were made very welcome by the owner and appreciated his guidance on restaurants and local knowledge.
The location is perfect with many frequent buses to take you into the center of Oxford should you choose not to do the 10-15 min walk
Our room was on the ground floor and was more than adequate for us. The breakfasts were of good quality.
Overall the service we experienced was extremely efficient. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Dalesman_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews