We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you expect from a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burlington House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than you expect from a B&B”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times over the last few months. The fact that I keep returning is testament to the standard you can guarantee from the Burlington. The guy that runs it couldn't be more welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated.......guaranteed a great night's sleep:) It's 5 minutes to Summertown which has some great restaurants. And the breakfast is yummy!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    96
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
48
230
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last week with my wife after she had read a good review in a travel magazine (sorry can't remember which one)
We opted for one of the delux rooms which was actually the same room which had been photographed in the magazine review.
Our room was on the ground floor and normally I'm not a fan of groundfloor rooms in B&B's as I don't like to hear people walking about above me, however I must confess I had a great nights sleep.
The roof was nicely decorated with a drench shower and bathroom installed in the room in what can best be described as a pod (its better than it sounds), the bed was very comfy and the breakfast was very tasty,all the staff we encountered were courteous and professional.
The location is great with summertown just a five minute walk away with some nice restaurants and bars and Oxford just a quick bus ride away (much cheaper than parking!)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank zag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This B&B came recommended by Trip Advisor, so we booked ourselves in for three nights for a (relatively) cheap place to stay in Oxford near the city knowing we wouldn't have to worry about the quality of our stay. We would most likely stay there again, if we were to visit Oxford again, so I recommend it. We had one of the annex rooms, accessible outside via the garden, which was very modern and comfortable.

The positives:
1. Breakfast is fantastic - for a B&B this is outstanding, with a very interesting menu of cooked foods. (I recommend the gruyere omellete)
2. Decor - the rooms are modern, up to date, well furnished, although a little cramped perhaps. The mattress was superior, very comfortable sleep, and very good quality bedding.
3. Atmosphere - The B&B had a wonderful atmosphere, with a very friendly and accommodating host.
4. Plenty of provision for tourists - a small reading room contains masses of leaflets and menus for local attractions and restaurants, some within a short walk of the B&B itself.

Negatives:
1. The walls are paper thin - remember this is a B&B, so the walls are not designed to be sound-proof in any way. Out first night was ruined by inconsiderate guests in the neighbouring room who talked and played music until the early hours (not the landlord's fault, but we did try calling Reception on the room phone and got no answer. In the end we had to take matters into our own hands with said guests)
2. Paying of the bill at breakfast? - We, as were many other guests, invited to pay the bill whilst we ate our breakfast. Most unusual, and although it could be argued it's convenient for all, it was certainly a little unusual. I wonder if the landlord had seen many guests disappear without paying recently?
3. A little distant from the city centre - not really walking distance, but the bus service is excellent. Buses every 5 to 10 minutes throughout the day well into the night, from a stop virtually right outside the B&B.
4. Twelve rooms, four parking spaces - on-street parking is limited to residents on Mon-Fri.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 10, 11 or 12. These are a small set of three rooms built in the garden of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Thoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This property is very well managed by a friendly and efficient owner. Hotel and rooms are nice and uptodate. Location a bit far from city centre, but there is a bus stop closeby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csaba73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentveld
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The reviews and the promise of "5 star accommodation" could not be fulfilled. True, the breakfast was abandunt and of excellent quality and the manager was kind and polite towards the guests. In the small public sitting room a collection was available of the menus of at least 10 restaurants in the vicinity, plus plenty of informative brochures of activities taking place in the Oxford area. However, the daily presence of the manager to ask questions left to be desired. One could perhaps, after the early breakfast hours, knock on the door of his private apartment for enquiries, but guests are mostly apprehensive of doing this. Most disappointing was the size of our bedroom, which was approx. 4.50 x 4 m. while the double bed was not much wider than 1.60 m. with one duvet cover for both. The bathroom was even tinier and offered, especially to the ladies, little room to spread out their make-up articles and "do their things". In summary: we found the accommodation not good value considering the already rather high rate, which was increased by another £10 per night because of the Silverstone Grand Prix taking place on the Sunday. As we arrived on the Wednesday before, this seemed a bit like taking unfair advantage as the event was taking place 4 days later. On the positive side: the house was clean and the manager helpful. When mailing him with a request to send us an amended invoice, as we had failed to ask for our company address to be included, he immediately obliged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerardPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed recently for one night when viisiting Oxford for a function. The Burlington deserves all the praise that has been heaped upon it and we would like to add to that.
Service was faultless, room extremely nice and the best nights sleep in a hotel / B & B for a long time.
Choice of breakfast was impressive and a lot of thought has obviously gone into this.

Nes you need to slow down or you will 'burn out' before we are able to stay again.
this man is without doubt a machine - he misses nothing and his attention to detail is outstanding.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Lovely time! Massive thanks to the wonderful staff! Top class!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realhousewifeofoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
335 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Property: Burlington House Hotel
Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Burlington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing